We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Ranked #71 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I spent a night here when I had a weekend away in Edinburgh. The guest house is centrally located in the New Town, and is the most affordable accommodation I have stayed at - it is definitely worth what I paid. Having said that, the beds are very narrow - I was afraid of falling off the bed if I tossed or turned during the night. However, the linen was soft and the beds were clean. The room I had was directly adjacent to another building that had a lot of windows, and given the fact that there were no curtains in my room (just stringy hanging drape things), I had to change in the bathroom so as to avoid putting on a free show! It also made sleeping cumbersome as the street lights from outside shone directly into my room given there were no curtains. The bathroom was very nice, with a large bath and ample room. The room was very clean and the decor was very quaint. If the room came with curtains and larger beds, I'd have rated this much higher. As it is, I would still definitely say that the guest house offers good value for money and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Guesthouse is practically in the center in New Town, close to many interesting bars and restaurants. It's only a few minute walk to tram stop, Waverly Station and bus stops and all the main attractions.
I came quite early, at about 10 in the morning but the lady said it was no problem, gave me keys to the room and apologized(!) for it not being ready. She even offered that if i need room right away she can get it ready in like 10 minutes.
Room was small but cosy and clean. Bed was comfortable, there was tv and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. bathroom was shared, but of course I knew that at the time of booking. It was very clean, and frankly I never felt that I was sharing it with anyone at all, with everyone in and out at different times.
For a city center it was very quiet with only occasional car noises and sometimes bottle bins being emptied but that's nothing when you consider location.
Breakfast was one of the best I've seen in a while, there were several different types of pastries, fruits, yogurts, buns, juices. I was offered some scrambled eggs, I was really impressed. I haven't seen such a good breakfast buffet in actual hotels, never mind Guesthouses. And on my last day I was leaving before breakfast started, so the owner had lunch packed up for me to go.
It was definitely worth the money and when I come back to Edinburgh(and most definitely will) I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgd_lpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Excellent location walking distance to all restaurants, pubs, shops, transportation and museums. Rooms and bathrooms are tidied up very clean and neat daily. It feels like you go back in Victorian time, staying as a guest. High ceiling, warm heater in winter, newly renovated bathroom. Continental breakfast was served with excellent service. Lady M serves you coffee and toasts personally with a warm smile. Table layout perfectly. Hearty breakfast with ham, eggs, pastries, fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee. Sorry, only milk, no coffee cream here. We really enjoyed our stay there, in mid January, and still miss it, even today.

Room Tip: Master suite on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Great location. Nice clean room. Morag was lovely and very helpful. Found our room quite noisy and parking was very expensive. Good if you dont have a car. Apart from that it was an excellent stay especially leading up to christmas

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank minicraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Great location, great service from two ladies who dealt with us. Slightly noisy re bottle bins being emptied from nearby bars. Rooms large and roomy, only slight issue as toilet cistern took ages to fill ( room 15). Hence only 4 stars and not the 5
Breakfast basic but great value for what we paid..
Would definitely return thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stefandjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#67 of 394 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#68 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#44 of 394 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#70 of 394 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#48 of 394 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Guest House

Address: 8 Hill Street, Edinburgh EH2 3JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: RM273 - RM600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is set in the heart of Edinburgh’s bustling city centre and is only a short walking distance away from the famous Princess Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Edinburgh Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing