We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a humourous commentary! ”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.07*
and up
Camera Obscura and World of Illusions Admission...
Ranked #5 of 450 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Beth was lovely! She took us through the periscope views and had us in splits most of the time during the show on the 6th floor. The rest of the 5 floors were great too - my 6 YO had a ball! Recommend!

Thank Vidya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Vidya, thank you for letting us know what a great time you had during your visit here at Camera Obscura, and how much you enjoyed Beth’s show inside the Camera Obscura itself! Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all ages"
in 1,079 reviews
"vortex tunnel"
in 450 reviews
"great fun"
in 928 reviews
"no lift"
in 200 reviews
"five floors"
in 120 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 424 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 149 reviews
"few hours"
in 372 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 114 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 215 reviews
"any age"
in 102 reviews
"whole family"
in 138 reviews
"rainy day"
in 229 reviews
"great attraction"
in 138 reviews
"edinburgh castle"
in 268 reviews
"royal mile"
in 287 reviews
"mirror"
in 1,167 reviews
Filter

589 - 593 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We didn’t know what to expect when we visited here but it was great fun. We spent about 90 mins wandering around and spent most of the time laughing. It’s good fun and different from other tourist attractions. Worth a visit but get there early as the queues later in the afternoon were quite long.

Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Gillian, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us here at Camera Obscura so much! We can get busy, particularly around the holidays, but our All-Day Tickets mean that it’s no problem popping in and out to avoid the crowds. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This museum is highly interactive and fun for all ages. There are lots of floors to explore and many ‘optical illusions’ to witness. The top of the building has the best views of the city on a clear day. It’s worth going to the very top of the building for the talk about the ‘camera’. It’s fun spying on people and scooping them up on pieces of cardboard!!
Don’t miss going through the ‘tunnel’ at the end and the ‘mirrored maze’ is pretty cool too.

Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Rachel, thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit! The165-year-old Camera Obscura itself certainly is impressive, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the show. The Vortex Tunnel and Mirror Maze are two of our favourite exhibits too, we hope you weren’t left too boggled! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Something different with lots of interaction. Good talk and amazing views of the castle from the top floor. Can get very busy so lots of waiting to have a go of the attractions but quitter at night.

Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Wendy, thank you for getting in touch with your review. We are indeed quieter in the evenings, but the show in the Camera Obscura and the views from the Rooftop Terrace are best seen during the day. Thanks to our All-Day Ticket it’s easy to get the best of both experiences though! Thanks again for such brilliant comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

It's a great concept, and a lot of fun, when you’re not squeezing past 20 other people in the crowded stairwells or trying to navigate to the exhibits. I should have realized by the line out onto the street to purchase admissions that it would be crowded on a cold rainy day, but it would have been nicer to have timed entries for less congestion. Also, there's a lot of science involved in the illusions, and the museum misses an opportunity for a richer experience by not providing some explanatory information for why/how the illusions work.

Thank JoanieKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi there Joanie, thanks for getting in touch with your feedback. We are aware that we can get busy, especially during the holidays. But with our extended opening times, and All-Day Tickets, the visit will be as comfortable as you want it to be – we can even make your ticket valid on another day if you’d prefer! Our guides are always ready to dive in to the science behind our exhibits and share their enthusiasm for how things work. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing