We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
from US$22.53
More Info
from US$180.40
More Info
from US$534.86
More Info
Reviews (14,530)
Filter reviews
14,530 results
Traveller rating
9,556
3,725
912
234
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,556
3,725
912
234
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages vortex tunnel great fun no lift five floors couple of hours kids and adults few hours interactive exhibits a lot of fun rainy day great attraction great place to visit edinburgh castle royal mile mirror maze
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 14,530 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Took 2 grandchildren aged 4 and 8 ..both had such fun but I think the head on a plate along with the mirror maze were their favourites. Loads to do !

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review! We’re delighted to hear you all had such a brilliant time with us and found plenty to keep you entertained. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Very interesting and enjoyable for all ages. We were a party of 10 ranging in age from 12 to 70. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is because of how busy it was. Considering you pre-book your time slot, we were queueing to see some of the exhibits and there wasn’t much opportunity to be socially distant,

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 76Bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your review. We’re delighted to hear you all found so much to keep you interested and entertained. We currently operate below our previous capacity with staggered 15-minute entry times but we will monitor the building numbers to make sure you have the best possible experience. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Way over priced, dated and over busy. Some bits interesting but very repetitive. The vortex and the views from the top are the highlights.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank matthewn750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello there. Great to hear how much you enjoyed the Vortex Tunnel and the panoramic views from our Rooftop Terrace. We aim to provide a mix of classic exhibits with newer exhibits, to offer a fun experience for all ages. We share new exhibits with our visitors every year and have added several since reopening. Thanks for all your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Spent a couple of hours in here with family (2 adults and 2 kids - 13 and 10) whilst on holiday in Edinburgh. We all really enjoyed it - loads of things to look at and plenty of interactive exhibits too. Highly recommend.

1  Thank leedoncaster1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello and thank you so much for the great recommendation. It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed the visit. as you say, there are so many things to see and do, with loads of great photo opportunities as well. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Visited as a family with 3 kids (21, 19 & 13) as we had never been before. Covid restrictions were in place and was well organised in terms of traffic flow.

However, disappointing exhibits with very few that were 'new' or different especially for older kids / adults. We knew in advance that the camera obscura show wasn't operating but at least we got to see the camera images.

Overall, reasonably enjoyable but expensive and probably better suited to younger children

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Maxip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Hello and thanks for leaving a review. In the World of Illusions we provide a mix of classic exhibits like the bendy fairground mirrors, with some larger walk-through exhibits, like the Vortex Tunnel and some unusual, newer exhibits many people will have not seen before. If you want to get in touch with us directly to let us know which exhibits didn't quite do it for you, we would be genuinely interested to hear. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews