We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big recommendation for this comfortable roomy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
A view of the outside of the property The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
A view of the outside of the property
The lounge
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Family bathroom
Upstairs bedroom
Single bedroom
Shower room
Upstairs bedroom facing west
Upstairs bedroom facing south
A view of the outside of Number 9
Kitchen (2)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jacqui S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Big recommendation for this comfortable roomy house”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were three couples staying here for a week visiting the Edinburgh Festival. Really happy on arrival to find the house so big and nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We had stayed in Leith the previous year and found the locaton of Dryden much closer to the festival - Pleasance Courtyard particularly. Area was very quiet and the house has stunning views of Arthur's Seat. Sheila was friendly and extremely helpful - any problems were sorted same day. We will definitely be rebooking when we return to the festival in 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property and location
Liked least: Parking restrictions
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2012
It was great to meet you all and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality and size of accommodation, tranquil location
Liked least: having to park away from house (minor inconvenience)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LittlAng
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were a group of 7, including 3 couples and one single person. The apartment was perfect for us. It was spacious, welcoming, and had everything we needed (including a washer/dryer, which helped us pack lighter for the trip). The owners, Sheila and Ian, are incredibly welcoming and helpful; they live on the ground floor with their two very sweet dogs. Sheila and Ian even sent my husband and I a card on the day of our wedding (the purpose of our trip was to have our marriage ceremony at Edinburgh Castle) while we were staying with them. The wifi is reliable, there is a phone that you can make local calls in the evening from (really helpful for dinner and attraction reservations). There are several markets and ATMs within walking distance.

If we ever vacation again in Scotland with friends/family, we will definitely try to stay with Ian and Sheila again. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was welcoming and spacious
Liked least: If you are not willing/able to walk a bit, you may want to seek someplace that is closer to the Royal Mile attractions.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneCavan...
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Victorian house, within walking distance of Arthur's Seat”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely house with great views of Arthur's Seat. It suited our family (one teenager and three younger children) very well as it is very close to the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and also within walking distance of Arthur's seat.
The owners of the property were very pleasant and helpful. They left copies of all of the bus timetables and brochures for the main attractions.
There is a really good place to eat near this rental called the Solisbury Arms. We also ate in a place called 'The Mussel and Steak Bar' near the Castle - service was excellent, place was buzzing and the food was great.
The MAC bus tour of Edinburgh was top class- a Scotswoman called Gwen was our guide and she was fabulous. We weren't so impressed with the Mercat 'Ghosts and Ghouls' Tour - more history and less ghost tales would have improved it.
All in all, a great trip and 9 Dryden Place was an ideal location for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views from the big windows
Liked least: No lead connecting the dvd to the T.V. on the first night but this was rectified by day 2.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning and spacious house everything we needed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing