We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Beyond Pizza and Pasta”
Review of Divino Enoteca

Divino Enoteca
Ranked #56 of 2,590 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Edinburgh's finest Italian Restaurant Wine Bar, Divino Enoteca is a hidden gem in the heart of Edinburgh's old town yet only minutes from the bustle of the city. The archetypal wine cellar married with Italian 'chic', Divino is charming and elegant, with soft lighting and exposed stone walls perfectly complemented by the comfy leather chairs, banquettes and booths, rich oak floors and an electic mix of pictures, lanterns and object d'art creating a warm and welcoming ambience.
Reviewed 10 January 2015

If it is true what the Sopranos have taught us, then the local capo regime would choose Divino Enoteca as their favorite place to enjoy the tastes if the homeland. Indeed, patrons at the Divino Enoteca tend to wear suits and there are plenty of good looking humans of Mediterranean appearance around (often they don't wear suits). But Divino Enoteca welcomes everybody for encounters with heavenly goodness, even the sometimes sturdy descendants if the local tribes that might not share the more delicate features of Italians. The olives that come as an amuse geulle are exceptional in their juiciness and truly divine. For a primo piatto try carpaccio or the eggplants au gratin. For your secondi piatto enquire about today's ravioli filling. They are homemade and the ones with swordfish filling were very lovely. The lamb with kale and mashed potatoes was very well prepared, and the reduction it came with was very subtle. Pass on desert, unless you want the tiramisu, which was not bad; avoid the panna cotta, which is accompanied by a sticky sauce that tastes precisely like Hershey's sirup squeezed out of a plastic bottle. Wine exploration is made easy when you use the option to have flights of five different reds or whites or both by the glass. The food was served by Italian staff, complementing the Southern experience of declared divine proportions. All in all, it was a really nice evening at Divino Enoteca, and I will come back soon, preferably on a Wednesday because then they have live Jazz during dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zitounihalouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Divino Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thank you for your perfect review and your loyal custom.

Tony Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015

This was a quite wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived everything was what one would hope from an Italian restaurant. The food was fabulous, the best Italian food I have ever tasted. Leandro leads a team of welcoming, warm and very friendly staff. The wine range is somewhat daunting, do not be put off by this, tell them your budget and you will not be disappointed with the delious wines.

This was the perfect Christmas treat. Do go, it's situtated in the Grassmarket, one of more unique parts of Edinburgh.

Thank you again for a very special evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Divino Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

The wine list has something for all pallattes and budgets. Our educated team are always on hand to assist and we host wine flights for the perfect experience of tasting before purchasing. Thank you for your custom.

Sincerely,

Tony Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We found Divino by chance. The restaurant we wanted to eat at was closed, so we went towards the grass market. My wife noticed Divino and said lets go in. Thank god.... The food was amazing/ I had pigeon as a starter, and the ravioli which was part of the dish was a star... Our food was fantastic, as was the wine. The staff were very friendly. The one downside was that it was a wee bit cool... brrrrrrrr, but we willlllllllll be back. You must go :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Divino Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

I am glad that your found us and I apologise for the cool temp in the building. We had a problem with the heating system and all is now rectified. Thank you for your excellent review and your custom.

Tony Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

To say the service was great is an understatement, we found it outstanding! And the wine and food weren't far off that too!

The restaurant has the unique ability to offer a great wine tasting experience, which we took full advantage of and we really enjoyed it.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, helped along by the very warm, welcoming and friendly service.

We don't usually revisit restaurants twice but an exception would be made here if we were to be back in Edinburgh again.

2  Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Divino Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

We look forward to inviting you back on your next trip to Edinburgh. The team strive to create a wonderful and memorable experience for all guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Tony Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We visited Divino tonight for a few tapas and a couple of glases of wine. The food is just what we are used to from Italy, which means it was delicious! We sampled a few wines from the special dispencer, they were all really good. We received a lot of information about wine,( i think it was Silvio?) wineries in italy and in general had a fabulous evening. The staff is very friendly and corteous, and the atmosphere in the restaurant very cosy and relaxing. So if you are looking for a nice place, good food and a decent drop of wine, Divino is the place to go! Next time we come to Edinburgh, we will visit again! Thanks guys!

2  Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Divino Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Your kind words will be passed on to Silvio and the team. I am pleased that you wholly enjoyed your experience and thank you for your review.

Tony Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Divino Enoteca also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Divino Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing