We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Right.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge
bedroom with king size bed
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom, bath and walk in shower
View of the flat and Greyfriars Kirk
View from the lounge in the evening
View from the kitchen in the morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lifeasart
chicago suburbs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Right.....”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Location, accommodations and host are just right for a great trip!
Walk across the street and enjoy The National Museum of Scotland (perfect for a rainy day, plus free), step directly behind the apt to explore spooky cool Greyfriars Kirkyard (made for a moody weather day or night), stroll a couple blocks to the Royal Mile and head left to fab Edinburgh Castle or right to St Giles and then onto Holyrood Palace, as well as all the interesting stops along the way (do it no matter the weather). For a casual, entertaining evening right around the corner from the apt, enjoy dinner at Mums and wonderful local music, drinks and maybe a delish meat pie across the street at Sandy Bells.
Return to a comfortable, very clean apt where you can relax before the next day of adventure. Of course it helps that the bed provides a good night's sleep and the bathroom is modern with nice amenities. The kitchen has all the basics, along with a bit more like items in the frig for your first couple mornings. You can always pick up additional food at Tescos.
You will find a wonderful host in Axel. He is very responsive to all questions and offers much info on sights, restaurants, etc. When I told him we were planning to rent a car to visit Loch Lomond and Stirling, he suggested we consider a tour group. Even though we usually don't care for this option, it turned out to be a great choice. Rabbies Tours allowed a maximum of 16 people, provided lots of good info and ended up costing probably less than if we went ourselves. Plus, no need to do all that driving. We also took the train to York, England for the day which we thoroughly enjoyed.
I would recommend this apt to most anyone unless you have mobility issues or drink a lot:) since there are a few flights of stairs and they curve around each floor. Otherwise, enjoy!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dixondl03
Leeds, England
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

In the heart of the old part of Edinburgh, round the corner from the royal mile so that the Castle, Holyrood, Mary King Close tour, the Grassmarket and many others are within walking distance. Not to mention the museum and Greyfriars on your door step. Great flat, plenty of space. Parking at Quartermile NCP is 5 mins walk away and next to a Sainsburys. The Cloisters pub recommended is great for real ale drinkers nearby and a meal at the mussel and steak place in grassmarket is a must. I can honestly say I wouldn't stay anywhere else if visiting again. Thanks for a great visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and presentation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lengle67
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Edinburgh”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent nearly a week in this flat and were very happy to have the extra space compared to a hotel room. The kitchen was modern and so convenient. We took advantage of the washing machine (some instructions included in the welcome packet would be helpful, we googled the model to figure it out). The fridge had a few staples included on our arrival which was very thoughtful and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the bed room window had an extra layer of glass to minimize street noise. The back kitchen window overlooked the Greyfriars churchyard which was a beautiful view in the morning. The neighborhood had a variety of shops and restaurants which we enjoyed. The apartment was in a great location to explore the city on foot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEPJHP
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, central accommodation.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - apartment had everything we needed and was very comfortable and central to all amenities. Lots of very good eating places within 5 to 10 mins. walk.
Welcome pack very much appreciated.
Would definitely stay at Greyfriars again if we return to Edinburgh in near future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Tiverton, Rhode Island
1 review
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Perfectly situated, clean and comfortable for two. Across the street from the museum, two blocks from the Royal Mile, a short downhill stroll to Grassmarket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing