We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience National Museum of Scotland
from US$22.57
More Info
from US$16.93
More Info
from US$255.95
More Info
from US$68.96
More Info
Reviews (21,377)
Filter reviews
21,377 results
Traveller rating
15,905
4,367
873
159
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15,905
4,367
873
159
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural history roof terrace all ages free entry interactive exhibits rainy day few hours beautiful building great for kids couple of hours on display great place to visit visiting edinburgh royal mile dolly science technology
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 21,377 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wet weather but this is all undercover, so perfect. Helpful staff and one way system due to Covid. There is a nice touch for your tired legs. Portable seats available to carry around at several spots between rooms. You might not think you need them at the start but by the end!
Not the museum's fault but a paucity of disabled parking and no drop off bay. There is disabled bays just not enough I had to do circuits to find one close enough and eventually got lucky.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Oramazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definitely a must-see when visiting Edinburgh. Both kid-friendly and adult-friendly. It has a little of everything!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank languageaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This museum doesn't really seem to know what it is: is it museum of Scottish history, a science museum, a natural history museum? In trying to do everything, it ends up doing none of it particularly well. The one-way system imposed due to covid is confusing, and many areas are completely closed. The basement has a lot of interesting exhibits but the lighting is poor and the descriptions are at the back of the display cases, too dark and too far away to read comfortably with reading glasses. We were disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed passing a few hours at the museum. Plenty to see although interactive tasks and some areas our not accessible due to Covid. We were pleased the cafe was open too. Well laid out for social distancing and not over crowded. Get your free tickets booked and leave a donation when you are there.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank lizmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

It was easy getting tickets, and while some parts are closed , the signs are clear, the staff were really helpful, and it was still a fantastic visit. They’ve really thought out the routes and signs.
A special shout out to Norbert in the cafe, who saw that my daughter and I were absolutely shattered and peopled out, and went out of his way to find us a seat in the cafe so we could have a drink and a rest. We really appreciated it.

Don’t underestimate how weird it will be to be around people again, even well spaced out like here, especially if you’re inclined to be a bit introverted!

It was a little emotional to be back. Looking forward to going again,

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank aprilmD7688QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews