We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing meal”
Review of Stable Bar

Stable Bar
Ranked #486 of 2,641 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and her friend were there on a Wednesday and they raved about the meal my wife had fish and chips her friend had the pie both enjoyed there night out,

On hearing how nice it was I booked a table on sat for 730 when we arrived we were met by a very nice young man who showed us to our table, we had our drinks order taken very quickly also the meal was ordered soon afterwards I ordered the large fish and chips while my wife chose the smaller portion,

It was not long in arriving on looking at it the fish was large and seemed to have lovely beer batter on it as it was dark in colour when I cut into the fish it ozzed of oil /grease from the batter also the end of the battered fish was empty of fish It looked large but it was only the batter making it look that way,
Yet my wife had a nice piece of fish only complaint with her meal was it was also a bit oily/greasy,

This was a shame as the staff are all very pleasant and friendly and the service was fast but the food let it down on this occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 105,686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a 2 course meal bought on a deal & were not disappointed. The meal was very well cooked & presented. It looked freshly cooked & served to us by friendly staff. A lot of dishes to choose from the menu at reasonable prices. Bar drinks are also very reasonably priced with 2 soft drinks & 2 beers costing just £10.40p.
A log burner located in the center of the room offers a nice welcome warmth on a winters night.
We shall certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Nice bar and great on a Monday as the do fantastic Fish and chips 2 for 1 never had a bad meal
dog friendly pub with a lovely fire and good wifi

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

I come here quite often as I normally rate the food very highly but coming here last week I was very disappointed with the Roast Lamb dinner.
The lamb was cut very thick, quite chewy and the gravy seemed to have a beef flavour to it that was quite off putting.
I would have thought lamb would have a lamb gravy but it certainly wasn't lamb.
The vegetables were nice but so bland.
All in all it certainly wasn't worth the price and I've had better at home.

1  Thank cherylels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We had lunch here a few days ago! I chose the chicken and bacon baguette with mayonnaise. If I had known the mayo., was to be the main ingredient I would definitely have chosen something else! To say it was overdone would be putting it mildly! It was probably bought in already mixed! The baguette was good quality, just spoiled,in this case by an awful filling!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penowl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain D, Owner at Stable Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi.
We are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your baguette of mayonnaise!! Unfortunately we don’t have chicken and bacon baguettes on our menu, only a delicious club sandwich, and certainly not “bought in fillings”, so it may well have been another local establishment starting with “S”! Easy mistake.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stable Bar also viewed

Penicuik, Midlothian
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stable Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing