We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
35
94
91
50
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
94
91
50
120
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Was the perfect hostel for what we needed for our short stay. Central location to the royal mile and Waverley station so only a few minutes walk from everywhere we needed to go. The staff were so helpful and always available, especially if you ever get locked out of your room! Fun, friendly atmosphere and all at a very good price. Would definitely recommend a stay at Cowgate Tourist Hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Stayed there for the BUDS competition weekend, lovely staff can't say a wrong thing about the place. We in rooms of 3 bunk beds and paid a 20£ deposit for room keys. They also provided 2 bedded rooms and towel rentals. The place had free wifi which I found very helpful as I had travelled fro abroad

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheoryofKnowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Was over for the weekend with some friends and was pleasantly surprised. With the low charged rates I was expecting something less equipped. The staff were really pleasant and always there to help, the four bed dorm I was staying in was incredibly spacious and clean. Its location was ideal , at only a 10 minute walk from the air coach drop off. All over a great experience with plenty of clubs l(cabaret voltaire ) and restaurants (City Cafe) 2 minute walk away. Would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Edinborough in the future

Room Tip: ps. the free wifi works a treat
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rumleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Myself and a few friends are travelling around Europe and stayed here for three nights. I found them to be the friendliest hostel we have been to so far on our trip. I would highly recommend staying here. The location and cleanliness were both to a high standard too.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aedín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

This is a great place. Ignore some of the silly reviews. This place was really cheap, but clean, in a good location and fit for purpose. I've stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world, however this we stayed at this clean, safe, well located hostel for less than a round of drinks. Anyone who has been a student, gone on a "gap year yah", or travelling will find this just fine.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank MikeHunt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews