We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grassmarket 521

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Olivia J
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

What a great little place! I felt right at home and would have even considered moving in if I had the opportunity ;)

The apartment is in a wonderful location, the stairs and corridors did take a little getting used to but I'm only in my 20's, not quite sure how someone elderley would find this, but its definitely worth it!

Although some times noisy at night (it was the weekend and we slept with the window open) I couldn't fault this place, I cooked most nights and every morning we were there and the kitchen had everything, there was even some olive oil in the cupboard!
The seating areas were adequate for two people and the bed was a dream!
I found the shower a little on the small side, I'm not used to using a cubicle, but it wasn't a problem.

Located just off grassmarket with a Sainsburys down the road, a cafe and cocktail bar opposite, it was just perfect!

Lynne suggested the NCP car park on Castle Terrace, this is the nearest but is quite pricey, I parked on Riego Street, this is an underground car park under the royal bank of scotland, although access is restricted at some times, I found it safer and cheaper, its not too far away, only a few minutes walk and cost me £45 for 3 nights and 4 days, I left my car there for our entire stay!

All in all, I would like to thank Lynne for offering this beautiful place and will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziegfeld...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed here with my 10 yo godson and we had a great time. The apartment was a prefect size for the two of us with a very comfy sofa bed for him to use - really good quality mattress. The location was very good for the Grass market, Castle ( great views as you enter the apartment ) and the top end of the Royal Mile. Instructions for access were very clear and helpful. Also close to a number of bus routes for longer journeys.
Everything we wanted was in the apartment including kitchen utensils as I cooked mostly during our stay. Very good heating which made it lovely and cosy when it was chilly outside. Location also very good for a supermarket 2 mins away for basics although I found a better selection if you walked 10 mins up to Shandwick Place. Plenty of cafes, restaurants within a couple of minutes walk if you don't like to cater for yourself.
Furnishings were good and the place was very clean.
This is a compact apartment but it's been very well set out , has everything you need and was very good value for money - much cheaper and more comfortable than staying in a hotel.
Fast wifi.
Lynne was very helpful and easy to contact during booking and with other queries I had before we stayed. She has also provided excellent information about all the appliances in the apartment and lots of tourist information.
I would very happily stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: The shower cubicle is rather small.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catheeTon...
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Central comfy flat.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

So glad we chose this flat. It was as described. The location was perfect for seeing the sights on foot and five mins form restaurants and tour bus. Flat was clean ,comfy and warm. The block it is in would not win a prize for its looks ,but do not let that put you off . I would book this flat again . It was good value and better than a hotel because it was more comfortable
There is a mini supermarket under five mins away if you want to cook but we enjoyed eating out and not having to drive back. Owner helpful..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the flat itself
Liked least: The look of the block of flats
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to town
Liked least: many steps to travel with luggage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
imacato
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy flat in excellent conditions, child-friendly, and in prime location”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Grassmarket 521. The flat seemed to have been recently refurbished, and it had everything we needed for us and our daughter. The flat is within walking distance to Grassmarket, the Castle, and the Edinburgh International Conference Center. Lynne made sure we had everything we needed and was always available to respond to our questions. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt like we were home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing