We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay, with a caveat or two.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding
There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Attention to details & presentation ensures the apartment is welcoming upon your arrival.
Beautiful high quality bedding enhances the appeal of the comfortable king size bed!
A detail photo of the lovely master bedroom's gorgeous chandelier. It's great to wake up t
Complimentary generous arrival continental breakfast pack helps get your stay off to a great start!
The small bathroom has full size bath to relax in & luxurious fluffy towels are provided.
Looking from front door, down the hallway, into master bedroom. Features original artwork.
From kitchen door, master bedroom on the left, looking into the sitting room on the right.
Floor Plan showing unique Art-Deco room designs for Apartment 39 Lothian House, Edinburgh
A partial view from the sitting room window showing some of the Lothian Road local area.
Night View: 'Taken by a very satisfied client who had a wonderful stay', thanks Dennis Dal
The front foyer of Lothian House, showing some of its Art-Deco features & the lift/elevator.
An Edinburgh Tour Bus passing Lothian House on Lothian Road (it's a very central location!)
We've earnt Four Star Self-Catering awards for 20 consecutive years, a sign of high quality!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
cacahuatl
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, with a caveat or two.”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a great apartment for an excellent price (less expensive than a hotel room, and you get so much more). Jenny is easy to deal with - very organized and tried really hard to make us as comfortable as possible. The apartment itself has mostly everything you'd need during your stay (we stayed for five nights). The view is just incredible - open the curtains in any of the rooms, and you'll get a great view of Edinburgh Castle (the sitting room has the best view - and speaking of which, the sitting room was my favourite part of this apartment - very comfortable place to hang around). The apartment was very clean. It's compact, and really ideal for two (technically, it has enough sleeping room for four, but the space itself would be a little tight for that).

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place to a friend. That said, there are some things that you (especially those of us living in North America) should understand. Know that this is a self-catering apartment. Though Jenny provides supplies to start out with, you will eventually need to purchase some very basic items (such as toilet paper and napkins - it's amazing how we take this for granted until it's not there!). Also, keep in mind that the laundry is *not* in the apartment - it's a few floors down. No big deal, and it was always available when I needed it, but I'll be honest that I booked this apartment thinking it was en-suite. You'll naturally need to provide your own laundry detergent, etc. Many of you may not bother to do laundry while on holiday, but I like to pack as little as possible, so it's very important to me personally.

The biggest issue - something you'll really need to keep in mind if you're a light sleeper like I am - is that this apartment is on a main road, and the windows let a lot of noise in. My husband, who is dead to the world once asleep, had absolutely no problems. Unfortunately, I woke up every single night - even with earplugs. Jenny suggests that you stay at her other apartment just up the road and tucked back from the main drag if you are a light sleeper, but I was not aware of this prior to booking the apartment. As well, the area around Lothian Rd. can be great or not so great depending on what you're looking for - lots of restaurants and pretty central, but with lots of bars/clubs, which is no problem (or even a plus, depending on who you are!) until you are awoken in the middle of the night by folks yelling or singing after leaving the bars in the early morning! I actually really liked the location - I didn't think I would - my husband *loved* it (so many restaurants), but to be completely honest I would not stay in this location again ONLY because of the noise issue. To friends with no problems staying asleep, I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Overall, we had a great stay, and I would like to thank Jenny for trying her best to make me happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very good value for money!
Liked least: Noise at night from Lothian Road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you for this informative review, I'm sure a lot of people will find it very helpful and, if like you they have issues with noise, then we can point them towards 21 Cordiner's Land which is lovely and quiet. It sounds as though you were quite unfortunate with rowdy people disturbing your sleep, it can be months between such events, but invariably when you are staying in the middle of a city some element of noise is unavoidable. I'm glad to hear your husband enjoyed himself though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarySu...
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely apartment”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife & i spent a few days in apt'39 lothian house, we were met by the lovely Jenny who showed us how everything worked, the first thing that strikes you, is the fantastic view from the living room of Edinburgh Castle.
We had a wonderful stay, everything you could possibly need is there, Jenny is a phone call away if you need her, all in all it was fantastic, just a few minutes walk to princes street & the grassmarket, perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, no negatives at all
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we do appreciate knowing that guests have enjoyed our facilities, service and the views! We hope you come back to stay again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronte000
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Five Star”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I cannot think of one thing that was wrong with this apartment. The location was great, just a small walk to Princes Street, and walkable to the Royal Mile. Buses stopped just across the road (including the sightseeing buses and the other buses). There were many places to eat , and there was a movie theatre underneath.

The apartment itself was not just clean, it shone. Everything you can imagine that you would have in your drawers and cupboard at home was there. The welcome basket held enough food to provide me with breakfast for my entire stay of one week. The bed is just about the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The appliances (jug, kettle etc.) were of high quality as well. Overall it was absolutely fantastic. Thank you Jenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Lukasz8...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect first visit to Scotland”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay at Lothian was a mixture of business and leisure with both of us visiting Scotland for the first time and it left us wanting to come back. Thank you to both Jenny and Dawn for making it possible. The pre-arrival arrangements with Jenny covered all aspects of our stay catering to our specific needs. We were welcomed by lovely Dawn in an absolutely spotless apartment with all the amenities and instrucitons we needed. The place is fantastically located with an open plan apartment opening to a stunning view of Edinburgh streets and the Castle dead in front. It is perfectly located with a walking distance from the castle, the centre and the markets. We found plenty of guides in the rooms too so were well prepared to explore the city.
We will definitely look for availability with Jenny next time we decide to bring friends along. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish K
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and quality.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This flat is comfortable, spotless and convenient. All the fittings are of quality and everything you need has been supplied. In fact Jenny indicated that she was planning to have new carpet installed though we could see nothing wrong with the current carpet. There is a lovely bedroom with a most comfortable bed. Living area is small but quite perfect for two people. Although we did not cook, the kitchen had all that is needed to put a meal together. There is a small supermarket just around the corner. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, though the toilet plumbing was a little slow. We were a bit disconcerted when the building's elevator stopped working on three occasions during our two weeks in the flat. This would only be a problem when heavy luggage needed to be moved. We appreciated the goodies which Jenny so kindly supplied. Thank you, Jenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows.
Liked least: The toilet plumbing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing