We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortabe accomodation in attractive location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews Sunny south facing sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Autumn sunshine at Carlton Terrace Mews
Spring Carlton Terrace Mews
Sunny south facing sitting area
Sunny south facing sitting area
Kitchen/diner
Bedroom1 (kingsize or twin)
Bedroom 2 (kingsize or twin)
Bathroom
Carlton Terrace Mews, quiet city centre living
Carlton Terrace Mews
Period feature in Carlton Terrace Mews
Georgian elegance in nearby Regent Terrace
A light dusting of snow, view from Calton Hill winter 2015
Edinburgh at Christmas
Hogmanay on Calton Hill
Sunrise over Arthur's Seat
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jane A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortabe accomodation in attractive location, within walking distance of City Centre”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found the accommodation charming and an oasis of calm only a few minutes (5-10 mins)walk, or short drive, from the Scottish Parliament, and the Royal Mile, as well as the busy City Centre. Although we did not use it, on this trip, as we came by train,free off street parking is major bonus in Edinburgh.
The cottage was well equipped, our visit coinciding with the arrival of a brand new TV, and the owner was more than happy to sort out any issues that we mentioned, however minor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing in particular springs to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swilly123
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient location but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh very much, but there are a few things that would very much improve the Mews. There was no heating on when we arrived and the property was very cold and smelt very musty. The technology let us down in that the television (which was very old!) kept loosing its sound; the batteries in the controls were dead and the internet would not connect. The toilet would not always flush and none of the doors closed properly. The bed mattresses were hard and the pillows lumpy and the settee and chairs were also uncomfortable. The mews was mostly clean except for the oven and the kettle badly needed replacing
Some of the things may seem very small, but they would have made a large improvement to our stay and we may have booked again for a return visit as the property is in an excellent location in a very quaint and quiet area and Edinburgh and its people are lovely, but will not be returning to the Mews unfortunately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Overall comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
I regret that you had problems whilst staying in my accommodation. Had you informed me of these at the time I would have been able to rectify many of them, others may be personal preference- the previous reviewer commented on how comfortable the beds were. However, I am very keen that guests are made as comfortable as possible and I make every effort to ensure that any problems are dealt with efficiently. The Mews now has a new flat screen TV and new pillows. The wi-fi is functioning and we are seeking period replacement doors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dijon, France
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: Messy entrance hall of main building
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for your helpful comments. We take all feedback very seriously and have already installed a keypad entry system for the cottage to avoid any further key issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LisaF820
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Centrally located garden apartment”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights during August festival month. The apartment is in a very good neighborhood, nicely furnished with a fullly outfitted kitchen/dining area, small living room/sitting area, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It is situated in a row of converted carriage houses that encircle a nice garden courtyard (outdoor patio furniture is provided). Very quiet and comfortable accomodations but very close to being "in city". About a 5 minute cab ride or 15 minute walk to the Balmoral hotel in one direction and 10 minutes to Leith's Walk with theatre and lots of restaurants in the other direction. Across the street and a very short walk through the Royal Terrace gardens is a delightful coffeehouse/bakery on Easter street that we frequented often.

My husband and I travelled with our teenage son and we were very happy with the apartment. A bit on the small side for more then three (a queen bed in the master bedroom downstairs and a single bed upstairs). However, we really spent very little time actually in the apartment because we were so busy attending the International Book Festival (which was awesome), visiting sights and just walking around the beautiful city. The only negative I can think of is that we were left with one bath towel each, which was inadequate as they did not dry quickly. I would definately recommend this rental as a base for exploring the city. Note that there are one flight of stairs to get up to the main living area in the house and cobblestones in the courtyard, surrounding street if you have mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, central location.
Liked least: Not enought bath towels provided.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing