We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Rude!”

Laila Lunch & Brunch
Ranked #400 of 2,454 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Edinburgh's most instagramable cafe - a Middle Eastern twist on brunch in the heart of Edinburgh's old town. From Aleppo eggs to candyfloss covered pan cakes and our signature unicorn and ruby rose lattes, with a bespoke selection of wines and cocktails, it's the must visit Edinburgh destination
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited and waited in the queue to be seated, only 2 people waiting including us. My daughter waited in the queue as we went into a shop. The couple in front taken to a table and seated. My daughter who was waiting told by the same waiter he was over worked and he wouldn’t be able to seat us as he is struggling with the tables he is currently serving, due to short staffing.

The guy was rude in his manner and approach and turned her away, they were not even that busy. If he said there would be a wait due to short staffing then that’s understandable.

We then ate at a lovely cafe 2 doors away.
Only to find when we were leaving the cafe. Lailas had 2 people waiting to be seated. We were offended!! Staff clearly not managing good customer service very disappointing!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 377ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal-Owner, General Manager at Laila Lunch & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Once again, we have absolutely no issue with people who done enjoy their visit, but we cannot just sit by and accept lies being posted about us on a public forum with no recourse!

Laila's is a very popular and busy location. and it's just not possible for us to magic extra tables for everyone, as much as we would love to! If we don't have a table, we don't have a table.

At no time did any member of staff turn you away because they are "overworked", we simply did not have space for your group, at that time.

if you chose to leave and eat elsewhere, I'm not sure why you would be surprised to find other people waiting to be seated once you'd finished? We pretty much have queues all day every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All Fur Coat and No Knickers.
Sadly we were coaxed in by how busy it was, great decor and what seemed like a nice menu.

I reality our £13.50 “grilled lamb pitta” was merely some halved cheap supermarket lamb burgers and the waffle was again the thin cheap supermarket type dressed up with fruits and a swirl of cream.
Don’t waste your money if you prefer half decent food, and don’t judge the book by its great cover.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank SarahAH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamal-Owner, General Manager at Laila Lunch & Brunch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry but we have to respond to this, our food is not to everyone's taste, but we have two address your false claims! Our lamb pitta is made from fresh lamb delivered from our local halal butcher, and our beetroot pink waffles are made in our premises, to our own recipe (neither thin, nor cheap!)

As I said we completely understand if our menu isn't to your taste, but don't accept false claims!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off by chance, lovely outside seating with excellent food and drinks. Great place to watch the world go by… Waiter Mo was just so lovely, fabulous customer service, super efficient and very helpful, a true credit to this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Best place in edinborough for brunch/ lunch with the best staff. Food is just absolutely amazing. So delicious.

This place is always packed out and you can see why- not only is the food so scrumptious but the decor is just sooooo pretty. An instagrammer’s dream!!! There’s so much negativity on young people but a lot of people I have seen working here are young adults and are incredibly polite, helpful and friendly.

The waffles with the chicken is just mmmmm mmmmm mmmmm when I saw the combo thought it was really bizarre but it works. The infusion of the taste buds with that combo!!! Yummy!

Make sure if you are visiting to book in here so not to miss out!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank MissAdve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Laila offers one of the best experience of health food in Edinburgh in the UK. We are delighted with the service, food quality, ambitious and affordable prices. The waiter served us in a very friendly and professional way. He knows his job very well. He gave us detailed description about the food. We are very happy with his input. We had pancakes and coffee. Portions are quite generous, we couldn't finish it, of course we asked to take away. Thank you Laila

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Lale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Laila Lunch & Brunch also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Laila Lunch & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.