We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef ribs to die for - luscious lamb shank ”

Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound)
Reserve with OpenTable
Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound) is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 2,729 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: "Makars is becoming an Edinburgh institution, a rare true independent operator that promotes local artisan producers and ethical behaviour. Makar’s food has been described as “an Edinburgh gem”, “a local culinary hero” and “simply the best in Edinburgh”. Makars receives rave reviews and many of our guests come back time and time again. If you are struggling to get a seat at our busy Makars Mound site we have a much larger Makars WEST END restaurant that has exactly the same great food and team. It is not usually as busy and has a more relaxed atmosphere. It is about an 8 minute walk from the Mound along Princes Street. Our food ranges from slow cooked meats, char grilled sausages/poultry, (all in rich special sauces), to lunch time rapid lighter/tighter options through to a well received range of vegetarian and GF dishes. We use the finest potatoes for our mash, rostis and skins all served with fresh local vegetables garnishes and salads.
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Had lunch yesterday. A starter of a small potion of Haggis just to try. Really great one of the best as they said on the signs.

Mains of Beef ribs and lamb shank.
The lamb was really good and the mash buttery and rich with peas and carrots.

BUT the Beef Ribs wow . To die for honestly the sauce ( apparently the chef uses Coca Cola which works amazingly) and the soft Beef were some of the best we have ever had and we are rib fans.

Washed down with a Moscow mule, a Dark and Stormy plus a pint of their own craft lager. Perfect .

Simple friendly atmosphere good beer and reasonable prices. Staff were friendly and relaxed too .

Unless you hate simple good food you should visit this place.

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Hi Chris, what a lovely review to read. I am so glad we impressed you.

Yours

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 916 of 2,143 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Being a lovers of haggis,my husband and I thought we'd try this place.We were advised we could be waiting 30 mins for our food but we didn't mind.I ordered the haggis with black pudding,mashed potato and neeps accompanied with a whisky sauce.What a taste sensation!Absolutely stunning presentation and reasonably priced.

Thank diligaf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind review, sorry about the slightly longer wait we have been so busy. People get very angry if food does not come out in order of service.

See you again we hope.

Yours

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Well, 4 days of Fringe, with its wonderful street food, took its toll and we needed to eat sitting down. We spotted the Mash Bar whilst en route to see Jason Byrne at the School of Divinity but didnt have time to visit - so we saved ourselves for our last day to round off the visit. Annie, the Salford grafter, looked after us well, and ensured we needed for nothing. The Ox Cheek (you may have heard it mentioned) was as divine a peice of meat as i have ever had the good fortune to be served, and the haggis mash with the wild boar sausages gave groans of happiness from my delightful dining and life partner! Recommended - not half. If you go nowhere else go here, you will NOT be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Hi Wesley ,

LOL "Annie, the Salford grafter" made me laugh. Yep she has certainly worked her socks off this festival.

What a great review to read, my favourite of the festival! We will toast this review at our end of festival party!

Many thanks and safe trip home,.

Yours

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

If you need some good, simple (possibly hangover curing) food, this is it! We went on a Sunday afternoon and all had lovely food.

Thank 49ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Hi, what a wonderfully simple and kind review.

Thank you

Yours

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Always visit Makars when I am in Edinburgh. Very tasty vegetarian haggis with multiple mash options - they also serve 'normal' haggis as well as other mains. Great service too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much, please say hello on your next visit so we know who you are.

Yours

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound) also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing