We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment, perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Town apartment

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
johnI5788...
Warren, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great apartment, perfect location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mary, the owner, was there to greet us upon our arrival. She expected us one hour later but because we were a little early we simply called ahead and she was there waiting. The apartment had a beautiful living room area a nice kitchen two bedrooms and one and a half baths. It was just my wife and I so we had plenty of room. And considering the size of the apartment and the location, we felt that the value was excellent.
The location in old town which perfect, just below Edinburgh Castle and next to the Royal Mile. The fully equipped kitchen made it very convenient when we wanted to eat in, and the location was in walking distance to all the major attractions and conveniences. We would not hesitate to stay in this apartment again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay at Old Town 163. It was lovely to meet you and have you as guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you found the apartment comfortable. I hope that you come back sometime. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Dayton3
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Scottish Apt close to everything”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at 3 different places in 3 different countries on this trip, our favorite was Old Town. The inside is very clean, very organized and very Scottish with modern touches. Loved the location - just know that there are 16 stairs to one level and another 16 to the apartment. The kitchen is spotless and everything you need is there if you decide to cook. We usually did breakfast. Right next to the Castle ( and a hundred steps - or cheat and walk around the corner and find your way on the streets ( much easier on the knees). Great restaurants and shops nearby. Also we found a back way around the castle and to the park going down the hill and cutting thru a pathway. Since it is only 1 bathroom ZI would stay with no more than 4 people but that is your choice. 2 single beds in one room and a beautiful canopy queen bed in the other room. Plus a nice view into the courtyard off the back bedroom. The front living area is very nice size and has a small electric fireplace. The view is very nice and across the street is a very popular Hostel. The tour busses do park on the street for most of the day and many tourists are milling around on the sidewalk, but no big deal. If you want to know about a few restaurants send me a message and I will be glad to tell you about some fantastic food while we were there. Apartment is nice an quiet - and perfect. We will stay here next time in Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Really lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and Edinburgh.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming and Great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great Great Great

Owner and husband helped us with luggage into unit. SO NICE!!!!!!!
Landlord was available for questions and always gave a quick response. She never made us feel like we were bothering her. AWESOME!
Owner had comprehensive manual about the unit and the location.
Games in books in living room to use.
Had to go up a flight of stairs to entry of building and then up one more flight to unit. But worth it.
Comfortable beds!
Great kitchen filled with juice, tea, cookies and coffee.
Cable TV
2 bathrooms! great for 3 guests.
Really made our trip to Edinburgh terrific. We had been to 2 other vacation rentals on our trip. This was the best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and Edinburgh. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Come back soon you will be made very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our stay at this lovely apartment. Very nicely equipped and you won't find a better location in Old Town Edinburgh, extremely convenient tor attractions and restaurants. Mary, the owner, is the best. We'd definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and the apartment. I would love to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikikim12...
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking to stay right on the Royal Mile and near the castle, this is an excellent option. Of all 3 properties we rented on our Great Britain tour, we slept the best in this one. The beds are VERY comfortable. The master bed is large (American "Queen" size), and the room stays nice and dark and very quiet. The room with the 2 twin beds was perfect for my teen boys. They had plenty of space and found the room to be dark and very quiet as well. The living room is really large with 2 nice big leather sofas, plenty of lamps, modern TV, dining table and windows. The kitchen and baths are very small, but that's ok, they are completely modern and in excellent working order. My only wish was that that the washing machine also had a drying function. We ended up handing our laundry all around the heaters and one hanging rack. Note: you have to ascend 2 flights of stairs, and one is curvy and a bit tricky with luggage (no elevator option). But then again, you have to climb up and down steps to get around the Royal Mile and Old Town Ediburgh anyhow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
I am glad that you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. I am sorry that we do not have a tumble dryer, I do appreciate that this would make guests stay easier when washing / drying clothes. The apartment simply does not have the space for one.I will add an extra clothes horse for drying clothes.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, the only way we can improve is if guests let us know what is important to them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing