We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bag End Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views
Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
The kitchen is superbly fitted with Neff and Bosh appliances and is equipped to a high standard
Bright and sunny for breakfast, stylish and intimate for dinner. An enjoyable holiday luxury.
Handmade by a local craftsman, Bag End's solid Cherrywood staircase curves beautifully.
The best room in the house; have a quick power shower or relax in the beautiful roll top bath.
Enjoy the extra downstairs WC with a large wash bowl, toilet, shaver point and heated mirror.
Lovely wide hallways and displays of vintage 20th Century ceramics add a little quirky style.
King-size master bedroom with dimmable lights, Freeview Television, DVD & black out blinds.
Family room with double bed, single bed, Freeview Tv, dimmable lights and open country views.
Lovey double room with Freeview TV, dimmable lights, blackout blinds and open country views
Even in winter the view from the front door is a delight. Scottish village life at its best.
A little garden detail. Summer brings colour, and light to the lush Fife countryside.
Falkland Palace, Home to Ancient Scottish Kings. Nine miles from Bag End
The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews. 9 miles from Bag End
St Andrews cathedral. Nine miles from Bag End
One of the beautifull fishing village on the East Neuk of Fife. 17 Miles from Bag End
Fife Folk Museum, Ceres. 1 Mile from Bag End
Edinburgh Castle. Just an hours drive or a short train journey straight into the the city centre.
One of the rare breed Ryland sheep which habit our large field at the back of the property. They love a little bread...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AdamFairw...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not Happy”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want to have an enjoyable time , reconsider going here as the owner lives in the same building as you with one locked door separating you. Me and my group of 5 friends were very respectful and were constantly hassled by the owner which made the experience very disappointing, was also texted very disrespectfully after the 5 days telling me how much mess and dirt was left when it was very clean. He was also very rude to everyone in my group and swore at us for being slightly too loud which he stated at the start of the week that was completely okay as he claimed he understood that we were on holiday, which was definitely not the case. Very unhappy with the treatment and would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Dear reader... I feel I obviously need to respond to this review. This review was sadly written by a group of teenagers that treated the cottage with the utmost disrespect and then have used this platform to express their childish feedback. On our booking form we clearly state we do not accept group of people under 25 for obvious reasons, which they agreed to. However, they consequently turned out to be a group of teenagers who left the cottage in an absolutely disgusting state and a lot of extra cleaning help was needed to put things right.

There are also some expensive repairs that now need to be undertaken and they have compounded this insulting review by posting this and another negative and totally untrue review. I have applied for this second review to be removed as this is totally unacceptable behaviour and I would hope that responsible and trusting readers on Trip Advisor will give this review very little attention. As a long term owner with almost 100% 5 star reviews, this behaviour saddens and disappoints me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFM17986
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bag End Cottage”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Bag End Cottage was absolutely wonderful. My family and I came from the US, and it was a home away from home. Clean, tidy, well decorated and comfortable. Mark was also a pleasure to work with. We all wished we could of stayed longer!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
1 review
“Great cottage, in a great location.”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a fantastic cottage from top to bottom. It was clean, warm and modern. There were great views from every single window in the cottage. I visited with my fiancee and we struggled to choose a room from the 3 beautiful ones available. The living room was spacious and relaxing. The well equiped kitchen was one I wish I had in my own house. The spacious bathroom was amazing. We also enjoyed playing chess in the garden.

If you are planning to visit St Andrews and the surrounding area, you couldn't choose a better location. It is central to St Andrews, the southern costal towns (Elie/Pittenweem/Anstruther) and west towns like Falkland and Glenrothes. You are also within easy driving distance from Dundee and Edinburgh.

We would definitely recommened staying here and we will hopefully be back as a three.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Back as a three...that sounds very exciting! :-) Thank you for the lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming number three when it happens. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzylouwi...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Half term break”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked a month ago, it was reasonably priced because Scottish half term was different to ours. Beautiful cottage, clean, well equipped and friendly owner who lives next door but is not in your face and interfering, although he was very helpful when we asked for some assistance with something. There were 7 in our party, a mix of older people, middle aged, and young children. There is a great play area with the cottage which the kids loved. On the wet day we went to Dundee to the swimming pool which was amazing with flumes etc. We had a lovely walk in the hills and we visited St Andrews. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12MrsJRT
Houston, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best we've visited”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were a party of 5 age range from 13 to 80 and this property impressed every one of us! From the beautiful location to facilities inside - everything was perfect.
Owner Mark was so helpful, meeting us on arrival and again on departure, it was much appreciated and gave the personal touch.
The house was spotless and not just well-equipped - fully equipped! Excellent quality furnishings, comfortable beds and lots of room. Can't praise it highly enough, thank you Mark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;