We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukeside Lodge(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveller rating
1,005
228
68
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
228
68
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomcountry house hotelhomemade shortbreadkinness lodgemolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantstunning gardensa hot water bottleorchard suiteteddy bearfirst classturn down servicethe main hotellovely hotelafternoon teahigh standardlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

First impressions are lasting and this was most certainly the case when we arrived at Rufflets for our short stay. Our welcome was warm and there was an air of professionalism which was evident at all levels without exception. We were so impressed with the service throughout which was enquiring of our needs without the annoying platitudes so common in establishments today.

This is old world charm in contemporary surroundings. The topiary features in the extensive gardens provide interesting views even in winter and the warm, tasteful furnishings of the décor in the public areas and in the lovely bedrooms all contribute to an ambience of luxury and tranquillity. The newly refurbished dining room is particularly special with huge windows overlooking the gardens.

Just as we were winding down after a perfect day, we discovered our bed had been turned down and a hot water bottle tucked under the duvet! It just couldn't get any better than this.

Rufflets is a beautiful country house reminiscent of a bygone age which offers comfort and service at the highest level and cuisine 'par excellence'.We shall most definitely be recommending it highly.

Room Tip: There is no lift but help is at hand to assist with luggage
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Annie

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - we were all pleased to see how much you had enjoyed the time with us at Rufflets.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We visit Rufflets every year and it has never disappointed. It is expensive, but you receive great service, a lovely room and good food. The newly refurbished restaurant is a nice addition and the seating areas are lovely, especially in the winter with the open fires.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Morag

It was lovely to see you again, and glad to note you enjoyed yet another stay with us. The new restaurant is going down well, quite a change, but as you say it is a good addition.

With my best wishes,

StephenOwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Excellent all round with great attention to detail. Staff were informed, polite, friendly and well-trained. Beautiful surroundings and good proximity to centre of St Andrews. Thoroughly recommend at very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Carole

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts - and we were all pleased to read your kind comments.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Booked for the two nights midweek break on DBB basis and enjoyed our stay enormously. Due to the bad weather and road conditions we had to stay for an extra night and were very well looked after by the reduced number of staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This hotel is well worth a visit for its surroundings and wonderful food. Everything about our stay was perfect and I would highly recommend it. It is dog friendly too which is a big bonus for us and we were all made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MoiandAP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Many thanks for the kind feedback. Glad to see that the visit was perfect, and that your dog also enjoyed the stay at Rufflets.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews