We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
US$338
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukeside Lodge(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
331
251
84
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
251
84
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwest sandsjunior suitegolf coursesea viewtraditional hotelreception stafffantastic roomduty managerroom was largefantastic viewsthird floorbreakfast roomgolf tripstayed for one nightshort staybreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The staff are generally friendly, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good, with a splendid view of the Old Course!
Check in was quite slow because you have to sign a lot of forms and register your credit card, and the bar was never open, which was a disappointment. Comments I hope the staff take on board.
Overall a very nice stay and I'd recommend it as it's good value for money.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Nathaniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is a old style hotel with nicely furnished rooms and views across to the sea front and along the coast to the Old Course. I guess in summer it is very expensive but I got a good deal for the winter.

The restaurant food was reasonable and well cooked although nothing really fancy

Very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooking the sea is the best in my opinion
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 510col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My expectations of this hotel were not met. We weren't informed that the restaurant and bar would be closed because of the season. The rooms (both mine and a friend's) were quite small which made it difficult to move around. There was no temperature control in my room, and it was so hot that the window was open when I arrived, and I had to keep it that way day and night despite the very cool weather. And despite only having a small number of guests, my room was not cleaned one day. On the plus side, the staff was pleasant, the view was great, and the location very close to both shopping and the university.

Room Tip: Best views are at the front of the hotel-my room looked out over the sea
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The hotel has a great position and if you get a front facing room you will have a beautiful view of the water and the Old Course. The room was large and very clean and tidy. The staff were all very pleasant. The hotel is quite at night and no external noise. The food in the Grill was brilliant and Pam the supervisor was brilliant. The hotel was very comfortable and clean and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to get beautiful views.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dougall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear Dougall1,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a fantastic review via Tripadvisor .

I will certainly share your comments with the team as it helps with team positivity .

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Scores in the future .

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous views of the sea and the lovely building which houses the Royal and Ancient Golf Club. Front facing bedrooms have the same view but I had a room at the back which overlooks the hotel garden and the rear of various other buildings. Nice sized room though with large bathroom. Hotel was clean and well presented albeit a bit dated. Good choice at breakfast and freshly cooked breakfast too.

Good location, in easy walking distance of the shops and attractions and a lovely walk to be had along the seafront.

Would stay here again

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank HelenMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews