We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Connor C
Stirling, United Kingdom

Amazing hotel worth every penny.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2022via mobile
Quite a fantastic hotel, stayed for a few nights at the start of September whist traveling around Scotland. Staff were 10/10 especially Matthew massive help with helping me with my bags to the room on the 3rd floor, food was amazing, rooms and view were fantastic, nice comfy bed and a very spacious room.
Was told is due a refurbishment with in the coming months will 1000% be back asap.

Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: Parking to the rear of hotel in a private carpark or I'd your super lucky parking in the street...
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Sept 2022
Dear 351connorc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I am dleighted youe nejoyed your saty with us and look forward to having you bvack again soon.

Many thaknks

Christopher
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 2,334
RM 1,763
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,763
0.3 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 1,173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,173
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 2,046
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 2,048
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 887
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 887
8.8 km from The Scores Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
RM 3,608
RM 3,009
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 3,009
0.7 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 2,831
  • Official Site
    RM 3,178
0.2 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,171
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,183
2.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Classic Standard King Room
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,421
  • eDreams
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    RM 728
  • Agoda.com
8.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St. Andrews
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location west sands overlooking the sea tee andrews hole courses scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

I feel sad writing this as the scores is a big old hotel but it was appalling. The room cost £240 a night and honestly £50 would have been too much.the staff and cleaners were a credit but fighting a losing battle. The room was tiny and looked like it has not been updated since the 1980’s paint peeling, holes in the walls like there had been a fist fight .the tv did not work the double bed was not much bigger than a single the bath surround was rotting ,the light were flickering in the lift like a horror movie. Pictures from a charity shop adorned the walls. All this for £240 a night . I feel sorry for the staff who were clearly trying in truth the place wants condemning. We have been to St. Andrews many times but never will we go to this hotel again. We never complained as when we tried to check out we could not find a single member of staff

Room tip: There is no car parking at this hotel and 30 steps to the entrance
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear Sxaman,

I am sorry to here you had encountered issues throughout your stay, The hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment and while I am disappointed to read of your time with us I am glad that you found the staff pleasant and their service enjoybale, we do have managers on site daily and we would have been vey happy to discuss your displeasure wit you in person.

Please do consider joning us again once th refurb has taken place.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

Recently returned from a short break at The Scores and I already am looking forward to my next stay with them, nothing too much of a hassle. Amazing view and outstanding room! 10/10 in all areas, breakfast was outstanding also. Good luck for the renovation and we will be back as soon as you open.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaelzacg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hello,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back once we reopen.
regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

The room was not as advertised, we booked a King Double and got a twin.when we complained the receptionist lied and told me the room was two doubles like all the other rooms

I couldnt get hold of reception so i emailed the reception and got a reply after we had left.

The room was very dated, toilet roll holder broken and missing, hole in settee, the cleaner had left dirty cleaning equipment in the bathroom, the toilet seat didnt match the bathroom

The room was very dated and requires a full refurbishment.

The receptionist was never on duty and a ring of the bell brought nobody maybe they were avoiding me due to my complaint

Breakfast, again we had to wait till an unkempt individual who looked like he had been dragged off the street came and offered us a table, no warm welcome and the food was less than what you would expect from an hotel of this standard

On check out nobody at reception again we left our key and went.

Only stop here if you are desperate

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hello, Many thanks for your feedback. Again, I am sorry to hear you endured difficulties during your stay. I can assure you the room you had been allocated is in fact our largest room with two double beds in the room, most certainly not a twin room, it was a Medium Double Sea View Room. Our reception is manned between the hours of 8-6 so im surprised to hear after several attempts no one was available to accommodate you. We have great feedback in regards to our breakfast and service but I will pass on your regards management and to each area of service including housekeeping and maintenance to ensure these problems don't arise again. We do hope to welcome you back once we reopen after our renovations. Regards, Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2022

Welcomed upon arrival. Dinner choice downstairs was excellent and lots of choice. Rooms were super clean and we were upgraded. My daughter was delighted By the lack of plastic everywhere, for example water in the rooms were cans. Breakfast was super and a walk on the beach before breakfast was a bonus!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Triptravel368
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2022

Hello,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services, food and rooms excellent! We hope to welcome you both back once we reopen after our renvoation works!
Kinds regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2022

My husband and I spent 3 nights here recently. Once renovated, this place will be a real winner. Right now it's in need of repair but the signs of what it once was and might again be are there. The location, just a few steps from the first tee of the Old Course and overlooking the beach, is perfect. The staff is outstanding...among the friendliest and most helpful we've ever encountered. Beware there is no central AC which wasn't a problem during our stay. The strangest thing was not having a phone in the room to connect you with the front desk, which was unmanned in the evening.

Overall it's hard to complain about a place where the staff did such a good job, including going the extra mile to get us into one of the local restaurants. After some renovations, we'd love to go back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank IAH-hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2022

Hello,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm glad to hear our staff was more than accomedating for your help and needs. We look forward to welcoming you back once we reopen,
Best wishes,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews