We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Matt G
Atlanta, Georgia

Great location. Nice people. Needs an update.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2022via mobile
The location can’t be beat, you are steps from the old course and a short walk to restaurants and shops. The people are kind and helpful. That said, it’s very old and in need of renovation. The interior is quite dated and very well used. If this doesn’t bother you, go ahead and book it. If you’re looking for a high-end experience, look elsewhere.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Sept 2022
Dear MG3445,

Thank you for your review, I am overall pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

We are due to refurbish the hotel soon and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit very soon.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 2,007
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,007
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,830
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,007
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,247
RM 2,431
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,431
0.3 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 2,932
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,933
  • Agoda.com
    RM 2,803
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,933
0.7 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Classic Standard King Room
RM 1,287
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,471
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,218
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 2,554
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 2,548
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
5.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Don't miss the university museum around the corner
RM 607
  • Agoda.com
    RM 607
  • eDreams
    RM 607
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
RM 531
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 887
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 687
  • Hotels.com
    RM 887
8.8 km from The Scores Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Premier Inn St Andrews hotel
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 882
  • Trip.com
1.3 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
    RM 607
  • Official Site
    RM 730
  • Booking.com
8.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St. Andrews
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location west sands overlooking the sea tee andrews hole courses scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

Regular here when up in St Andrews and always enjoy my stay at the Scores. Great c service and you can't complain about the views either! Love the classic feel of the hotel very regal which is fitting for the town itself.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank anthonyoK6817GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear anthonyK6817GN,

May thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed yet another visit to the Hotel and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2022

We stayed at the hotel last week and had the most amazing experience. We love visiting St Andrews so were really pleased to hear that the Scores Hotel has reopened. The staff were amazing, very friendly and the service and food served was fantastic and delicious. The Hotel Manager couldn't have been more helpful during our stay. The rooms were super clean which is really important especially post Covid. We are looking forward to returning in the New Year.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G9559ILSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear G9559ILSandra,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, I am delighted read that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff who all work extremely hard to ensure 1st class service is delivered at all times.

We very much look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

Quite a fantastic hotel, stayed for a few nights at the start of September whist traveling around Scotland. Staff were 10/10 especially Matthew massive help with helping me with my bags to the room on the 3rd floor, food was amazing, rooms and view were fantastic, nice comfy bed and a very spacious room.
Was told is due a refurbishment with in the coming months will 1000% be back asap.

Room tip: Parking to the rear of hotel in a private carpark or I'd your super lucky parking in the street right outside the front door.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 351connorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear 351connorc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I am dleighted youe nejoyed your saty with us and look forward to having you bvack again soon.

Many thaknks

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

I feel sad writing this as the scores is a big old hotel but it was appalling. The room cost £240 a night and honestly £50 would have been too much.the staff and cleaners were a credit but fighting a losing battle. The room was tiny and looked like it has not been updated since the 1980’s paint peeling, holes in the walls like there had been a fist fight .the tv did not work the double bed was not much bigger than a single the bath surround was rotting ,the light were flickering in the lift like a horror movie. Pictures from a charity shop adorned the walls. All this for £240 a night . I feel sorry for the staff who were clearly trying in truth the place wants condemning. We have been to St. Andrews many times but never will we go to this hotel again. We never complained as when we tried to check out we could not find a single member of staff

Room tip: There is no car parking at this hotel and 30 steps to the entrance
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear Sxaman,

I am sorry to here you had encountered issues throughout your stay, The hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment and while I am disappointed to read of your time with us I am glad that you found the staff pleasant and their service enjoybale, we do have managers on site daily and we would have been vey happy to discuss your displeasure wit you in person.

Please do consider joning us again once th refurb has taken place.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

Recently returned from a short break at The Scores and I already am looking forward to my next stay with them, nothing too much of a hassle. Amazing view and outstanding room! 10/10 in all areas, breakfast was outstanding also. Good luck for the renovation and we will be back as soon as you open.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaelzacg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hello,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back once we reopen.
regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews