We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kevin Gilmartin

Friendly Staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2022
Stayed here for a night with my partner. Hotel is due to have a refurb soon and the staff are upfront with this and we know we are in St Andrews so we were surprised with the reasonable price compared to the other bigger venues

The staff make the place, lovely welcome from reception with an offer to help with luggage and food in the bar was delicious along with great service.

Looking forward to returning when it is all done up.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 Sept 2022
Hello Kevin3G1223,
Many thanks for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be delighted to welcome you back once we reopen after renovations,
Regards,
Kira.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 831
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 2,488
  • Official Site
    RM 2,768
0.2 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,222
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,076
  • Rufflets Country
    RM 1,135
2.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 2,850
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 808
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Classic Standard King Room
RM 1,086
RM 1,018
  • Priceline
    RM 1,086
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,020
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Fairmont
    RM 1,656
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,572
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 629
  • Expedia.com
    RM 741
8.8 km from The Scores Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in St. Andrews
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location west sands overlooking the sea tee andrews hole courses scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

The reception, when manned, had pleasant staff, but no one answered my email queries from a few days before my booking and no one answered the phone when I tried to call. The reception area is dark and gloomy and just feels a bit tired and depressing. The bedroom was warm and clean but extremely outdated with poor decor which made everything feel dilapidated. The wallpaper on the landings was dirty and peeling, the bath panel was broken, we had to ask for extra towels. I was woken up before 6am by staff talking loudly downstairs (at least they were there!) and various lift noises. I waited for nearly 10 minutes to check out and, despite ringing the bell a couple of times, absolutely no one came to reception. Another person was also waiting to check out so in the end, we just left our keys on the desk and went. Really, really disappointing because the location is superb and the staff - when they show up - are pleasant and helpful. The whole place needs a complete overhaul, update and decoration and more staff employed. Such a shame.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ticncheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Hello,
Many thanks for your review, unfortunately our reception desk isn’t manned 24 hours, just 8am-6pm. We are due to close soon for refurbishment works, but I will ensure maintence team look at the issues states to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We hope to welcome you back once we reopen and apologises again.
Regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

£180 for a room that is straight out of the 80's. Hole in floor under thr carpet, peeling wallpaper, light fitting hanging from ceiling, view to the service area at the rear of the hotel. Generally speaking it was embarrassing. I fealt sorry for the foreign visitor's who could only have fealt disappointed. Location is great but dont waste your money.

Room tip: Avoid this place
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mulacaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Hello Mulacaboo,
Many thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear you faced issues with your room during your stay. I will certainly pass these onto our Maintennc manager and get these resolved so they dont arise again. I do hope we can welcome you back once we reopen after our renovations.
Regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2022

We were coming to St Andrews for the wedding of my husband's god-daughter. We needed a place to stay near the church. Our daughter booked us in for the night. The small, garden room was more than adequate for our needs. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble! We had lunch in the bar which was cooked from scratch and very tasty. The overall ethos was of a family hotel where the staff really cared for the guests. We would stay again.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G226HDsusanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear G226HDsusanr
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, I am delighted read that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff who all work extremely hard to ensure 1st class service is delivered at all times.

We very much look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

I traveled to St. Andrews with my wife and mother on vacation. After choosing the Scores as our hotel, I found out from a local colleague that he had his wedding reception there, so my expectations were very high upon arrival. They were met at every turn. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was comfortable, had a full bathroom and a half bath for the three of us. The staff were friendly and accommodating, helping us with recommendations and a taxi at short notice. Communication was easy, and the breakfast was exceptional. I couldn't have asked for more out of the stay.

Room tip: 108/109 is a two bedroom suite
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pokenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear Pokenmeister,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to read and I over the moon to know you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

The location can’t be beat, you are steps from the old course and a short walk to restaurants and shops. The people are kind and helpful. That said, it’s very old and in need of renovation. The interior is quite dated and very well used. If this doesn’t bother you, go ahead and book it. If you’re looking for a high-end experience, look elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MG3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Dear MG3445,

Thank you for your review, I am overall pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

We are due to refurbish the hotel soon and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit very soon.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews