We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah

A little disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2022via mobile
Popped into the bar for a few drinks, lovely location and lots of potential but service was poor, drinks choices limited and then you get the luxury of paying a service charge of 12.5% on every round, making two drinks over £20. Disappointing response from the bar staff when this was mentioned, very dismissive and stand off-ish. More than happy to pay the service charge when feel it’s worth while, but not on a round of drinks in an empty bar. Stayed at the Rusacks hotel for the duration of our stay and the drinks were cheaper in the bar looking over the 18th hole.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 3,223
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 2,901
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 2,373
RM 1,788
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,788
0.3 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 2,674
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,674
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,329
RM 2,774
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,774
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,339
  • Rufflets Country
    RM 1,148
2.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Classic Standard King Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,569
  • eDreams
0.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,070
  • Fairmont
    RM 1,861
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,488
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,372
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from The Scores Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    RM 726
  • Agoda.com
8.6 km from The Scores Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St. Andrews
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
281
107
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location west sands overlooking the sea tee andrews hole courses scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2022

The Scores is literally 2 minutes from the famous gold course, if that is your thing, and faces out to the beach. Nothing in St Andrews is a very far walk away, but the hotel is in a great location. There’s a pub in the ground floor so you do not even have to step outside if the weather is too dreich. Large, high ceiling rooms with the usual facilities and some rather alarming portraits of famous Golfers. Lovely, generous cooked breakfast offers alternatives like avocado toast to the standard fried breakfast. Pleasant staff.

Room tip: Has sea view and garden view rooms
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

Hello Sheenite,
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back once we reopen after our renovations.
Regards,
Kira
@ The Scores Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2022

Wonderful Scottish style hotel with upgraded modern bathroom. Amazing location, with outstanding service. Staff is well trained and incredibly helpful. The manager (Chris) was always around and offering to help with any needs.
Comfortable beds & pillows, great shower with oversized soft towels. and great service…..all the important things I look for in a hotel!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gawain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

Dear gawainr2022,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am over the moon to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, they all work very hard to ensure a great experince is had for all our guests and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022

Well what can I say... there are no words.. Hope the management team read this and don't come back with excuses.. this place should be shut down until it gets a refurb...can I ask how this hotel can charge £240 per nite and £20 per person for breakfast... photos will have a lot of expansion to do.. we booked sea view rooms with double beds.. get a room. With 2 single beds then a room with 2 single beds pushed together. Stickers all over walls to hide the marks on walls. Our room had so much dust god knows when it was cleaned. We waited 1hr on breakfast poor girl o. Her own my husband helped her clean the table...had to ask for fresh orange apple juice and bread to toast the loaf was straight out the freezer... disgusting. Trading standards and environmental heath need ti be brought into this hotel. Must say the poor guests who stayed when the dunhill wad on embarrassing and disgusting springs to mind.
Looking forward to hearing the exuces from management.
Regards.

Susan.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susandobbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

Dear SusanDobbie123,

I am aware of the issues that you unfortunately had encountered during visit with us and of course there is ultimately no excuse for this. We have taken measures to improve the service offering and standard of the room you had stayed and I was glad to hear the reception team had taken your feedback on board and organised a full refund for your stay on check out.

While we have certainly fallen below our usual standards on this occasion I can assure you this is not the norm here. We are due a full refurb very soon and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Christopher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Stayed here for a night with my partner. Hotel is due to have a refurb soon and the staff are upfront with this and we know we are in St Andrews so we were surprised with the reasonable price compared to the other bigger venues

The staff make the place, lovely welcome from reception with an offer to help with luggage and food in the bar was delicious along with great service.

Looking forward to returning when it is all done up.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kevin3G1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Hello Kevin3G1223,
Many thanks for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be delighted to welcome you back once we reopen after renovations,
Regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

The reception, when manned, had pleasant staff, but no one answered my email queries from a few days before my booking and no one answered the phone when I tried to call. The reception area is dark and gloomy and just feels a bit tired and depressing. The bedroom was warm and clean but extremely outdated with poor decor which made everything feel dilapidated. The wallpaper on the landings was dirty and peeling, the bath panel was broken, we had to ask for extra towels. I was woken up before 6am by staff talking loudly downstairs (at least they were there!) and various lift noises. I waited for nearly 10 minutes to check out and, despite ringing the bell a couple of times, absolutely no one came to reception. Another person was also waiting to check out so in the end, we just left our keys on the desk and went. Really, really disappointing because the location is superb and the staff - when they show up - are pleasant and helpful. The whole place needs a complete overhaul, update and decoration and more staff employed. Such a shame.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ticncheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scores Hotel, Owner at The Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Hello,
Many thanks for your review, unfortunately our reception desk isn’t manned 24 hours, just 8am-6pm. We are due to close soon for refurbishment works, but I will ensure maintence team look at the issues states to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We hope to welcome you back once we reopen and apologises again.
Regards,
Kira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews