We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Du Vin
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$364
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$187
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$198
US$186
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$535
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
345
168
74
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
168
74
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschateaubriandtom morriscoffee machinesea viewitison voucherlovely lunchboutique hotelstandard roomwest sandsafternoon tealovely hotelbreakfast staffwaiting staffchecking outgreat roombed was very comfortablesmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The St Andrews Burns Club is the 13th oldest in the world and the 2018 Burns Supper was held in the Hotel du Vin in St Andrews. 84 of us were there to enjoy a traditional meal and set piece Burns Supper and it was the first time for many years that that we had been to the Hotel du Vin. Under General Manager Herve Bernier, it has been transformed and we were treated to a first class evening. The food, the wine and the staff could not have been improved upon and a great time was had by all.

The meal started with a wonderful Cock - a - Leekie Soup, to which I gave a 10 out of 10. This was followed by a Tian of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties, with a whisky sauce which was delicious. The main course was Roast Sirloin of Beef with Potatoes, Carrot and Broccoli. An outstanding piece of meat! This was followed by a selection of cheese platters and then tea/coffee and tablet.

The speakers, pipers, singers contributed to an excellent evening but the Hotel du Vin was a star in its own right!

Room Tip: Be nice to Reception.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmMMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Malcom,

Thank you for such great review. What a fantastic evening it was to honour the great Robert Burns. You all looked fantastic in the many tartans and we were only happy to provide great food and one or two tipples.

We hope to welcome you back next year.

Kindest regards

Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Overall the food was very good, apart from one item that was a bit stale.
Service was pretty poor overall, there only seemed to be three members of staff and our drinks didn’t arrive with the food and we had to wait for drinks etc,
I was given the afternoon as a present from my family, if I was paying it myself I would have said something to the staff at the time.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for recent visit and I am very sorry to read of the disappointing service you received on this occasion. We always aim to meet and exceed our customers' expectations and please accept my most sincere apologies for coming short of our usually high standards on this occasion.
I trust it will not deter you from returning to the bistro when we will work very hard to re-assure you of our commitment to great service.

Kind regards

Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

This hotel is amazing, staff are friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble.

Room was great, spotlessly clean with large bed and luxurious duvet. Breakfast was great

Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dawn,

Thank you for you recent review and 5* rating.

We look forward to welcoming back sometime soon.

Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Location of hotel is quite central and facing beach and sea but on street parking is a nightmare though be warned. Room was very small with sloping attic roof and skylight window. The bed was very comfortable but filled up most of the room. Paying a 5 star price we were disappointed in the room we had.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandrastenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I wish you let us know about your room while in the hotel as we would have been more than happy to show you other room type that you may have had preferred.

We are always happy to help.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel in perfect location facing the beach next to the old course. Our room was comfortable and clean with walk in shower, king size bed and all the facilities one would expect for this star of hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful but
unfortunately the quality of food was very poor, over priced and took an age to be served. This ruined our enjoyment of our stay and would probably put us off returning. Snacks are available in the rooms if you don’t mind paying Ritz prices. The hotel offer reduced room rates if guests spend a specific amount in the restaurant. I would advise paying a normal room rate and eating out at one of the many places nearby.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

David,

Thank for your recent visit and review. I am please you enjoyed the hotel and staff however I am sorry to read we came short of your expectations and our usually high dinner standard and please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Herve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews