We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$102
Agoda.comUS$102
TripadvisorUS$102
Vio.com
eDreamsUS$102
EtripUS$102
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
328
263
103
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
263
103
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hotel hotel restaurant nice stay town centre trip to st andrews central location fresh fruit cooked breakfast high standard golf receptionist courses scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Very comfortable able bed in room 21 but had to keep window shut to avoid kitchen fumes. Breakfast was appalling: no muesli , no fruit, no yogurt, no bread or rolls, cheap sour orange juice from concentrate, desiccated mushrooms! Fine if you just want to binge on processed fried meat. Clearly no improvement since previous bad reviews.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 481vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Hi 481vi,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at breakfast. We always pass on any guests complaints/comments to our heads of department and we do our best to improve in areas that are maybe not up to standard. I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied and these comments will be passed on to our Head of Food and Beverage.

We hope this experience hasn't deterred you from potentially visiting again and we hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Hannah Spink
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the smallest hotel room I’ve ever been in. There was hardly space for 2 people to move about so getting ready for a wedding in there was a challenge. The room was stuffy and the decor was a bit shabby - paint on light switches etc. There was also cobwebs in the corners of the room.
The shower drained really slowly but did have good water pressure and the towels were fluffy but had some marks on them.
The breakfast was nice it has to be said. Just a buffet but things were hot and the food was good.
I really wouldn’t say this hotel was worth the money.

Room tip: There’s isn’t parking at the hotel but you can park for free in Abbotsford crescent which is opposite.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SunSeeker2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hi SunSeeker2717,

We are sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us. In regards to your comments about the rooms, i have passed on some of the comments to our Housekeeping team to ensure that things like marks on towels and cobwebs are being noticed and cleaned before guests arrive in the room. Unfortunately, as i don't know which exact room type you were in I cannot investigate your comments about paint on the light switches and the shower draining slowly. We are happy to hear however that you had a great breakfast experience with us.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Hannah Spink
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2022

We planned our stay in St. Andrews around golf at the Old course. This hotel was recommended for it's location. We enjoyed it very much, and not just for that proximity. The room wasn't huge but was enough for our stay. The bed was large and comfy. The bathroom had a good shower too.

We enjoyed the breakfast each morning very much. Most days, we ordered off the menu. One day we had the buffet. All of the food was fresh and delicious. Neil was our server each day and he was great. My wife has a dairy allergy and he took it upon himself to stop by a store on the way into work just to get a dairy substitute. What a guy!

On the morning of our round on the Old Course, we had an early tee time. So early that it preceded breakfast time. We notified the front desk the night before and they had toast, meat, and coffee waiting for us before we headed out.

We also had dinner on Easter at Playfairs restaurant. It was a very nice three course meal. It made up for being away from family on the holiday. We recommend the Ardgowan and would return there if we go back.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colo_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2022

Hi Colo_Traveler05,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us! I will pass on these kind comments to Neil regarding his great service at breakfast. We are very proud of our staff and we love to hear from guests when they are doing a great job.

We are also glad to hear that you had a great Easter dinner at Playfairs and we will pass those comments onto them also.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Ardgowan soon!

Kind regards,
Hannah Spink
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2022 via mobile

This is our third stay at the Ardgowan. It was fabulous.
Buffet style breakfast was lovely. Quality produce and plentiful.
We ate dinner in Playfairs Restaurant on Saturday night, 2 courses for £30! Our steaks were delicious.
Spotlessly clean rooms, comfy beds and great shower!
We will definitely be back soon

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lindalambie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2022

Hi lindalambie89,

Thank you for your great review and for staying with us again! We are so glad to hear that you had another great stay with us and got to also enjoy a lovely dinner at our restaurant Playfairs whilst you were visiting.

We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Hannah Spink
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2022 via mobile

Where do I start. The accommodation was ok. A good sized and comfortable bed and a large bathroom with a good shower, albeit over the bath. Splash marks on the wall by the window which I initially though was water coming in but was dry.

The breakfast however was appalling, very cheap and nasty, we almost walked out. I could go into detail how bad it was but life’s too short and I want to forget this experience.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dnmac1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2022

Hi dnmac1955,

We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us especially with your experience at breakfast. We have passed these comments on to both to our restaurant and kitchen teams to improve this for the future. We are extremely proud of the ingredients that are used by our restaurant so are disappointed to hear that you felt it was "cheap and nasty".

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Ardgowan in the near future

Kind regards,
Hannah Spink
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews