We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another great stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Star Apartment - Heart of St Andrews apartments
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
North Star Apartment - Heart of St Andrews apartments
Front door
solid oak flooring throughout
family bathroom
family bathroom with heated de-misting mirror
En suite shower room (double bedroom)
Garden furniture for al fresco dining and drinks
Just a short stroll to the Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirst030
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay! ”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We returned to North Star for our 2nd visit this year. The sun shone for a lot of our stay which gave us the opportunity to enjoy the garden. As before we had everything we needed and really enjoyed our stay. Hopefully we'll be back again soon! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. It was great to be able to welcome you back to North Star again. I'm so pleased the weather was good for (at least part of) your stay and you had a chance to enjoy the garden. I look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review Liming, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at North Star! Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic St Andrews, great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I've stayed at 40 North Street 3 or 4 times now, and love it. It's in a perfect location, central enough to soak up the unique atmosphere of St Andrews, but at the right end of North Street to be able to relax, and to have more chance of parking. The refurbishing has left it really light and airy, a much more modern flavour than before. The bedrooms/bathrooms are lovely, a decent size and nicely decorated, and the upstairs room has fantastic views over the traditional St Andrews rooftops, and onto the University's Graduation Hall. Kitchen is well equipped, sofas very comfortable, though perhaps a bigger coffee table might be an idea, now that the room has been extended/refurbished. Shona always responds really quickly if there are any minor issues, makes you feel that nothing is too much trouble and gives you a very warm welcome with cake and wine!. Our only small reservation would be the recent addition of swings and playhouse in the lovely walled garden - we've no doubt that for some they're a benefit, but for us they spoil the garden and the view. It won't stop us wanting to go back though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional St Andrews style and location
Liked least: Swings and playhouse dominate the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review and your kind words. I have noted your comments re the coffee table and will consider getting a larger coffee table or perhaps further small side tables for near the sofas. I also welcome your feedback about the swings / slide as I am keen to hear what this year's guests make of this new addition to the garden before deciding whether to leave them or remove them for next summer. Thank you for your continued support. I hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of home far away from home.
Liked least: That I had to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that your son liked the toys, books and DVDs which we provide for children. We now have a small playhouse and swing set in the garden which I am sure he would love! I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirst030
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, we'll be back!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from an excellent week staying at North Star. The apartment was fully equipped with everything and more that we could possibly want. Brilliant location, really handy for the town centre and nice walks to the nearby beaches with the dog, we loved the updated furniture and decor. The parking was a bit of a pain but that's St Andrews for you and we could generally get parked near the apartment after 5pm. Overall we'd highly recommend North Star and can't wait to book our next visit! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything we could possibly want was provide
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future! Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing