We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup and cheese”

The Old Cheese Shop Cafe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.03*
and up
Shore Excursion to St Andrews from South...
Ranked #2 of 18 Shopping in St Andrews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We serve local and organic ingredients, delicious cakes, grilled cheese sandwiches, soups and gluten-free options. We have comfortable seating inside and outside in our garden cafe located in a sheltered courtyard down a lane.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely café on South Street that we popped into for lunch on cold damp Saturday in St Andrews. We received a warm welcome from the friendly waitress and I opted for the lunch special of soup and a phenomenal toastie for £5. The soup was a generous bowl of homemade lovelyness and the toastie was made with mature cheddar and real ham. Well worth a visit and would love to go back and sample their special cheese platters

Thank Cheech2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline N, Manager at The Old Cheese Shop Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this beautiful review, glad you enjoyed your experience and warmed up in our cafe on such a cold day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"south street"
in 6 reviews
"soup"
in 6 reviews
"nice sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"every respect"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 2 reviews
"cakes"
in 2 reviews
"andrews"
in 9 reviews
"characterful"
in 2 reviews
"pounds"
in 2 reviews
"wee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came across this by accident. Funky little Scandinavian style cafe. Great value and lovely food. Excellent service. Plenty of vegan and veghie choices.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline N, Manager at The Old Cheese Shop Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a wonderful review, we’re glad you enjoyed our offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the lunch deal - £5 for soup and a sandwich. Lovely soup - leek and potato - and great bread with the sandwich. Choice of cheeses and good veggie Andy vegan options. Definitely recommend. Very friendly staff, good and clean facilities - will be back.

Thank 113MarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline N, Manager at The Old Cheese Shop Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed everthing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I liked this cafe, and the way the tables have been arranged. It makes me smile, because i do appreciate elegant interior decorations and furnishings. And, of course, when i smile, I say "Cheese."
I was here for coffee, but I'm going to come back, for the full menu. Lots of tasty combinations, with cheese as their main component. The wine list is excellent and, by the way it was filling up (as I made my departure) it's a popular place among the many restaurants in the town. A tad pricey, but I recommend you try it!

Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline N, Manager at The Old Cheese Shop Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. For a limited time we are offering £5 lunch special: one of our soups with a deluxe sandwich or panini. Feel free to share with everyone, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

A quality lunch in this small bistro. Very popular, the cafe could have filled their tables three times over from the numbers popping in to see whether a table was available - clearly a good sign. In the summer you can also eat within a pleasant and characterful courtyard.

Soup and bread was a generous serving and very tasty and the mixed charcuterie platter for two was memorable. Quality meats and the freedom to choose the cheeses to accompany. Do try the gjetost Norwegian toffee cheese - utterly unique and delicious.

Excellent coffee. Friendly and informative service.

A wee gem.

Thank Jings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline N, Manager at The Old Cheese Shop Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it! It’s always a pleasure to have lovely customers like you who appreciate our hard work, unique setting and product. We hope you can find Gjetost in Edinburgh, otherwise we can always source it for you. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Cheese Shop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Old Cheese Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing