We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday ever”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Shieling with our 7 year old daughter and had the most wonderful holiday. The accommodation was first class and the views across towards St Andrews were just amazing - we didn't want to leave! The Shieling was within easy reach of everything we did - 10 mins from Dundee, St Andrews and Cupar. Our daughter loved exploring the space outside the house and there was plenty of room to play tennis, frizby and football. Moira was a great host - always on hand if we needed anything but never intrusive. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixam93
Besozzo, Italy
1 review
“Lovely Cottage with Stunning View”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at the Shieling during our son's graduation and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is beautifully set on a hill overlooking the eden estuary with the towers of St Andrews in the distance. There are sheep right in front of the living room and rabbits in the fields around it. The house is very modern and equipped to a high standard. There even is a fire place with plenty of fire wood. The large glass front allows to enjoy the stunning view at all times of day. The owner is also very friendly and welcoming. We had a problem with our car on the way up from the airport and she immediately offered to help and was happy to wait for us at the property. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and hope to return soon again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LFerg1
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous House, Brilliant Host, Will Return!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We visited the Shieling for a girly birthday celebration trip over the long weekend in February and had an amazing time!

From the moment we booked, Moira couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Once we arrived, we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates and shown around the lovely property.

The wood burner was a definite highlight, adding to our cosy weekend away.

The location was ideal, allowing for an easy commute into Dundee or St Andrews and with beautiful views around the local area.

We will definitely be returning to the property, hopefully making it an annual trip. Thanks to Moira for being the perfect host and for allowing us to stay in this wonderful place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheana S
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the second time we have stayed in The Sheling. This visit we returned with our two children under 2 and we had an amazing family break. The house is finished to a very high standard and is very clean. Excellent views which you would never tire from. Owners (Moria and Bob) go above and beyond to ensure you feel welcome. We arrived to balloons for the children and bath toys plus ensured we could fit both bots in! Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing