We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Took a look at late rooms for a wee one night stay in Glasgow for the mid term school holidays for the family and found the Belhaven and I really glad that we did. What a totally excellent find. Wonderful large rooms is a beautiful Victorian Terrance that has been nicely restored. Staff were first class and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was good and well presented. All in all a great little find and I cannot recommend this place enough. great location, great rooms, nice staff , what more could you ask for

Room Tip: If you have a yong kids ask for room 7. It is massive easily 2.5 times as big as a travel in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, Owner at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We have a great team here and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

Please remember to take advantage of our loyalty scheme to earn free night stays and contact us direct for best deals. We love to reward our best customers.

Kind Regards,
Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

I booked this hotel for my family. I heard from them that The Belhaven hotel was the amazing hotel and amazing service, very clean hotel and very calm atmosphere in a great location. Also very useful and great staff.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank imi2imi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, Owner at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your positive comments and it will be shared with the rest of the team.

We hope you and your family collected a loyalty card on check out for a chance for a free night stay. We always reward loyal customers who choose to book direct!

Regards,
Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Booked the hotel at the last minute via Booking.com as it seemed to offer good value. On arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room overlooking Great Western Road. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom facilities.
Car parking immediately outside the hotel for a small charge of £2 per 6 hours.
Breakfast was excellent and the service from the waitress was friendly and attentive.
Ideally located to visit the West End and all its attractions around Byres Road.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TurnerMWLancashire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, Owner at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We really do appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Last minute deals advertised on 3rd party sites will always be available on our own website...BUT with an extra 5% off. Look out for our promo codes to take advantage of the extra discount.

Regards,
Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

located on Gt Western Road, at the top of Byres Rd, it is ideally located for visiting the activities and entertainment of Glasgow's west end. However, the accomodation is looking and feeling a bit tired and must be due a make over. 1 minor point is that there are no teasmaid or kettle for coffee, in the bedrooms, but yet there is an ironing board & iron, which I feel is the wrong way around for guests.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malxmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok but that not their fault I'm not a breakfast person. I stayed in premier room which is a good size however it is not worth price paid for it, paying for the spa bath which was a major disappointment takes ages to fill up and then when does only 1 jet works fully 3 very weakly and 2 not at all obviously the spa bath gets cleaned but not maintained to working standard also the toilet was hanging off the wall bathroom in this room needs upgraded. Also they have about 9 cushions on bed only need the bed pillows not the others which didn't smell that fresh. Also watch when cleaner is cleaning rooms leaves hoover wire lying all over floor outside rooms potential tripping hazard when coming down stairs. So over all would say hotel good but not worth the price will return to Glasgow again but will be going nearer city centre nothing special about west end at all....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalBelhaven, Owner at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review and taking the time to leave some comments. We are pleased to see you enjoyed some aspects of your stay.

Regarding the bathroom and spa bath, we do agree some improvements need to be made. The Premier room had it's bedroom completely renovated in June but we were unable to do the bathroom at the same time. We have plans to renovate the bathroom beginning of 2018. The spa bath itself can get blocked jets when customers put things like rose petals into the bath. This is easily fixed when reported during your stay. We do not fill the bath after every guest to check the jets as this is time consuming and a huge waste of water. There is no way of checking if anything is stuck within the system without filling the entire bath and running the jets. We would urge all guests if something is not working in their room to report it, we will always act immediately and ensure you are left satisfied.

In relation to the cushions, they are decorative, they are not intended to be slept on. We provide you four pillows which are intended for sleeping on. The cushions are new and washed regularly, they have a scent to them but we would not describe them as dirty or smelly.

We are sorry the hoover wire was causing a hazard. Housekeepers are made aware of the safety issues around hoovering the stairs and is included as part of our risk assessment. Do understand housekeepers are working against the clock to get rooms ready on time and sometimes they leave items where they shouldn't when attending something else. Management do their best to ensure housekeepers are working in a safe manner throughout the day but it looks like we missed the hazard here. We will do our best to remain vigilant in the future.

We will have to disagree on the west end not being special. City centre is great for shopping and a walk around but the west end has all the best attractions for during the day and the evening.

We would love for you to come back and give the hotel another go. Please do not hesitate to contact us when staying in Glasgow and we would love to offer you a 30% discount on your next stay, we would really appreciate the second chance.

All the best,

Regards,
Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
343 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Park Hotel
#83 of 93 in Glasgow
307 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 0TG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: RM280 - RM756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belhaven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel UK/Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing