We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a privilege!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a privilege room here expecting a room of quality. On arrival to the room had to request a change of duvet cover as it was dirty and had a large hole in it.

The room was small, the carpet was very old and dirty, the bathroom was extremely dated with next to no water flow for the bath and a mixer shower that was worse than a cheap old electric shower giving no power.

The sink still had single taps that were difficult to turn on and off and the toilet was so old it still was a syphon flush which took 5 minutes to fill up with a foghorn noise and then dripped thereafter. ( Even after complaining 3 times to reception it was not fixed)

At £140 a night this is by far the worse hotel Room have experienced and is in need of a major overhaul.

It’s gets one point for the staff and one for the breakfast which was fresh, warm and obviously prepared with care.

Will not be back to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain74Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Iain74Mc,

Thanks for the review and my apologies for the housekeeping issues.

Our water pressure is normally pretty good so I will certainly be investigating it, my apologies you did not find it satisfactory. We could not fix the foghorn issue without changing the lavatory as it is an older design we are looking to change it though.

Our prices are based on demand and November has been particularly busy in Glasgow , I'm sorry to hear you didn't think it offered good value.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, it's not a plush 5* hotel, but the quality and standard of room for a mid-range city centre hotel was ideal. The room was clean, bed was comfy and yes there was a bit of noise outside, but the hotel is bang in the centre of a busy city - if you want silence, stay further afield!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi GlasgowTraveller80,

Thanks for the kind review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One night stay, one person. I arrived early, and was pleased to be able to check into my room by noon. Very helpful staff on reception. Location of hotel is brilliant, two minute walk from Museum of Modern Art. OK, this is a dated building, and rooms (mine at least) would benefit from modernisation. However, the price reflected this, which I felt was very good value. Also, excellent value (if booked in advance) hearty breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Silverhill,

Thank you for your fair review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed 2 nights here arriving home last night. We got a deal with itison and decided to try it out. Although the room was small it had everything we required. Yes, it could do with a bit of an upgrade but it was clean with a comfy bed. The Hotel is so well positioned with a few minutes walk to the train station and all the shops. Breakfast was self service and very good. Lovely fresh fruit and yogurt and the hot food was very appetizing. I must say a big thank you to the staff. The cleaner, receptionist and waitress were so helpful, cheerful and made our stay very pleasant. We recommend the Mercure and we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodnbunty285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dodnbunty285,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Good location, reasonable breakfast, small poor quality and tired room in need of total redecoration. Staff were very courteous, efficient and helpful. Breakfast opening was quite late for people requiring an early start.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank P4233MHandrewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi P4233MHandrewj,

Thanks for the review and your fair comments.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
998 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: RM296 - RM691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing