We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$233
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$200
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$295
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$260
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kelvin Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Z Hotel Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
152
389
381
161
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
389
381
161
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge squarewould stay againrooms are smallexcellent locationqueen stshort stayreception staffbuffet stylebars and restaurantstwin roomweekend breakthe heart of the citystayed one nightvisiting glasgowcorinthia
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Yes, it's not a plush 5* hotel, but the quality and standard of room for a mid-range city centre hotel was ideal. The room was clean, bed was comfy and yes there was a bit of noise outside, but the hotel is bang in the centre of a busy city - if you want silence, stay further afield!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi GlasgowTraveller80,

Thanks for the kind review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

One night stay, one person. I arrived early, and was pleased to be able to check into my room by noon. Very helpful staff on reception. Location of hotel is brilliant, two minute walk from Museum of Modern Art. OK, this is a dated building, and rooms (mine at least) would benefit from modernisation. However, the price reflected this, which I felt was very good value. Also, excellent value (if booked in advance) hearty breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi Silverhill,

Thank you for your fair review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

My sister and I stayed 2 nights here arriving home last night. We got a deal with itison and decided to try it out. Although the room was small it had everything we required. Yes, it could do with a bit of an upgrade but it was clean with a comfy bed. The Hotel is so well positioned with a few minutes walk to the train station and all the shops. Breakfast was self service and very good. Lovely fresh fruit and yogurt and the hot food was very appetizing. I must say a big thank you to the staff. The cleaner, receptionist and waitress were so helpful, cheerful and made our stay very pleasant. We recommend the Mercure and we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodnbunty285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi Dodnbunty285,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Good location, reasonable breakfast, small poor quality and tired room in need of total redecoration. Staff were very courteous, efficient and helpful. Breakfast opening was quite late for people requiring an early start.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank P4233MHandrewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi P4233MHandrewj,

Thanks for the review and your fair comments.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Let’s put it this way- I am glad work are paying for this room and not me. The lobby area is nice but as soon as you get into the rooms they are terribly dated. Windows don’t close properly, noisy heating pipes, and some of the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever had the misfortune to sleep on.
Plus side-the staff are all without exception lovely.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank MiniCooper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi MiniCooper83,

Great to hear you found the staff lovely.

My apologies for the pillows I will certainly look into it as we replaced them all in the summer as part of a company wide project.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews