We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few plug sockets, no personal lights and no lockers in the room. But nice beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Two plug sockets in a 6 bunk room. And finding sockets almost impossible. Why not put some in room? Its a brand new hostel.

No lockers in room. Outside the doors from reception. Just 6. Not good enough.

Too few showers. Two cubicles for 6 rooms.

WiFi near impossible but its remote so u kind of expect it.

Plus side... Hot shower, big pillows and comfy bed. Great after a long day's hiking.

Most of the staff are friendly I opted for breakfast.. Basic but plentiful.

Room Tip: Remember you have to put the sheets on the bed.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hi J S
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us, Its great to see overall you had a good time and have noted your points regarding the sockets, lockers, and showers. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative and this enables us to improve the guest experience.
Also you mention the hostel is brand new which is a testament to the team there and how well they keep it as the hostel is actually over 10 years old.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend trip with friends. The hostel was friendly, comfortable with great facilities.
Unfortunately, the hostel was noisy on the night we stayed and I was awoken by slamming doors.
I would still recommend it as the facilities and location was great.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank trudit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Hi trudit85
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Im pleased to see overall you found the hostel friendly and comfortable and we will have a look at your comments regarding the doors to see where we can maybe reduce the noise on closing.
Thanks Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the aviemore youth hostel while attending the 20th anniversary thunder in the glens rally and ride out.
It was not our first choice as we usually go for hotels but we started looking for accommodation in January 2016 and everywhere except the youth hostel was fully booked.
We were lucky they had a 4 bed dorm available so I bit their hand of and booked it.
Best move I have ever made, the hostel itself was not easy to find being right next to a Catholic church as you enter aviemore
Its fairly tucked away but only a few minutes walk away from the centre and all the action of thunder in the glens.
Good safe parking for our motor bikes, the reception staff were very pleasant and explained the facilities and after hours procedures, the public areas lounge, dining area and kitchen were immaculate and fairly modern.
The room we were given was clean and tidy, nice and quiet, I got a wee surprise as it had two sets of bunk beds but what the hey.
We had room 16 which is the closest one to the best shower I have ever experienced, spacious with awesome water pressure,
Toilets were clean and well looked after.
The hostel does have wi fi but it only works its best when you are in the lounge.
All and all we really enjoyed our stay in this peaceful hideaway
Far enough from all the live music and partying so you could drop out early and have a wee kip.
We would not even consider booking a hotel for thunder in the glens now in fact I returned back home today and managed to get the last room in the hostel for next year for thunder.
A big thank you to all the smiling friendly staff, I look forwards to seeing you all next year, keep up the good work guys.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank brusky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi brusky12
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.The thunder in the glens is a busy time for us all and its great to see you had an enjoyable experience at the hostel and will pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff.
We look forward to seeing you next year if not before.
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed in a family room with two bunk beds. The room was quite small and basic and the showers were communal with two in a room. They provided us with lots of booklets about the area and had lots of discounts for activities. It was on a main road which wasn't too far from restaurants and a few shops. The wifi was good, however it was only available in reception and there was free parking. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viruksen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Hi viruksen S,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see overall you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks ago while I was participating in a nearby course. I enjoyed my stay with nice shower facilities and comfy beds (for a youth hostel anyway!). I enjoyed talking to many people who were also staying in the hostel as the communal dining and seating areas allowed me to do this. Kitchen facilities were of high standard with shelves to separate everyone's food.
Only issue really is the lack of sockets in the bedrooms as I bought an extension cable and if I hadn't not sure how we could have all charged our phones at night!
As a teenager staying in a youth hostel alone for the first time I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again (although probably for a shorter time) if I was to find myself in Aviemore again.
Thank you

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank wonderlustkatie771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi wonderlustkatie771
Thanks for your review we hope to welcome you back again.
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.0 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.6 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
9.7 km away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
133 reviews
40.0 km away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#14 of 52 in Inverness
166 reviews
0.2 km away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: RM108 - RM641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing