We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badaguish Wigwam & Campsite(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
46
46
21
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
46
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdishwasher tabsbooked lodgesself cateringswimming poolsoft playwood burnerwave machinecutlery and crockerycoffee podsplay parklarger lodgesdining chairslovely toiletriesbig showerliving areaon arrivalsized bedrooms
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Overall our stay was nice however after staying in a number of lodges around Scotland the standard wasn’t as good, the surroundings of the lodges are lovely with plenty space both inside and out, the decor was nice and suited the character of the lodges too. However they could do with a freshen up bit of paint in places! We found empty sweet and crisp wrappers in some of the cupboards and also some utensils where missing out of the cupboard, it would also be nice to have a seat outside to enjoy the weather or just somewhere to take off your shoes after along walk.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank robynmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear robynmow,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the decor and character of the lodges. I am sorry that some cleanliness aspects let us down on this occasion, we would be sure address these issues.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Christo Botha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

The Woodland Lodges are ideally located within easy walking distance of the train station, Tesco’s and all the restaurants and bars in Aviemore.

The 3 bedrooms are all ensuite and the lodges are well equipped but the furnishings are dated. Seals around the showers and bathroom fittings are mouldy and, in general, a refurbishment programme is required. The kitchen is very small and it would be very difficult to prepare a meal for 6 people.

We took advantage of an Itison Promotion which provided good value for money. However, in their present state, the lodges cannot be classified as luxurious and the full asking price is hard to justify.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear joabil,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We would take your comments on board to explore ways to improve the offering in our lodges for a more enjoyable and relaxing stay. Glad to read that you found the lodges well located and equipped.

We look forward to welcoming you back the resort in the future.

Kind regards
Christo Botha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

These used to be great lodges a few years ago, and we have been several times. I am sorry to say, I don't think they have been upgraded or painted since those visits. Paint flaking off the bathroom walls and ceilings, as well as lots of spiders and visable mould.
Come on MacDonald this was highlighted to you a few years ago, and it seems you have done nothing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Lodge 3 over May weekend with my daughter and 2 grandsons aged 9 and 8. Lodge was spotlessly clean. Leather sofas had been well used but were very comfortable. Lodge overlooked play area, so was brilliant for keeping an eye on the kids.

Italian restaurant was boys favourite so we ate there twice during our stay. The burger restaurant on the other hand was a huge disappointment. It was very busy and completely understaffed. Burgers were very dry and not very nice at all. Even boys didn’t like it.

All in all a very nice resort and we would definitely go back, but not to the burger restaurant I’m afraid.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We arrived on Friday pm and collected the keys we were left to find our own way to the lodge. The road up to the lodge implies it is one way therefore we drove round to see if there was another entrance, gave up and drove up the road anyway. The lodge was tired looking and could do with some paint and general tidy up. The bedrooms were good and we all slept well as the mattresses were good, but there were cracked tiles on the bathroom floors. The kitchen floor was dirty and I had to wash the cutlery and crockery before using. The company was excellent,the weather was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews