We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fish , pity about everything else”

Robins Fish And Chip Shop
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Thurso
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can i say , cooking fish and chips is hardly rocket science. 1) get some fresh fish delivered. 2) Make up a quality batter with beer or some such good ingredient 3) Cook it for the required time in a decent oil or fat.
As for chips , simply cook them at the right temperature for the right amout of time as and when needed.
The fish i got was a decent fish spoiled by the person that cooked it. God only knows what dubious materials were used as a batter.
The chips were soft greasy and soggy , looked like they had been cooked 20 mins earlier and stored for future use.
Serving staff were very pleasant but i would suggest the FRYER takes a trip to Wick and orders fish and chips at Weatherspoons. There he will find what fish and chips should look and taste like.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L5542QRroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was aware girl who served me had alighted from a blue Volvo parked outside shop..she jumped out of car and took my order,then a few minutes later jumped back into car for a minute or two..where she was stroking,clapping and hugging a dog..then back behind counter without washing her hands..she put my order in a polystyrene carton using tongs ,so she didn’t physically touch what I ordered and the fact that I was starving clouded my decision to walk out..but I will never set foot in this place ever again,food was greasy and tasteless into the bargain

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank mrcreosote2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021

Waited half an hour to place an order, the order queue did not move in that time. No member of staff said anything. Had to leave hungry and angry as I had a ferry to catch.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank IanJ1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021 via mobile

Wonderful friendly staff. Large selection of food and very reasonable prices.

Second place only to the Killay chippy in Swansea. Food never greasy and always cooked to order.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Scudpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Two Cod specials with gravy and peas and a couple of drinks for less than £20, cheap compared to home. Queuing system in place and clearly popular with the locals. Food was tasty, great chips and light, crispy batter. Happy customers.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robins Fish And Chip Shop also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Robins Fish And Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.