We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant time out ”
Review of Gellions Bar

Gellions Bar
Ranked #2 of 18 Nightlife in Inverness
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a braw time in this bar. The music is top notch and traditional. Had a brilliant laugh with the locals. Ps did I mention the music is live.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"oldest pub"
in 9 reviews
"scottish music"
in 8 reviews
"fantastic music"
in 3 reviews
"singing and dancing"
in 2 reviews
"friendly staff and locals"
in 2 reviews
"cracking pub"
in 2 reviews
"traditional bar"
in 2 reviews
"bar maid"
in 2 reviews
"busy bar"
in 2 reviews
"bridge street"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"isle of skye"
in 2 reviews
"schiehallion"
in 11 reviews
"accordion"
in 2 reviews
"rory"
in 2 reviews
"tourists"
in 9 reviews
"pup"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great bar and reasonable prices for drinks. We visited on a Sunday and were lucky enough to sit and listen to Schiehallion who were absolutely brilliant. We visited on Tuesday night and listened to local musicians playing, who again were really good. People dancing, singing along, and everyone is so friendly. Bar staff very nice and helpful. Can't wait to return

Thank Cherb2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Me and the mrs went in for a pint having arrived in Inverness. Saw the sign claiming ‘the oldest pub in the highlands’. Clearly there for attracting tourists. No atmosphere and if your not a local, don’t expect a friendly welcome.

Thank pauljam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, Owner at Gellions Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Good Morning Paul, sorry to hear your experience was not a great one, "Chavy" not a word I have ever heard in the same sentence as the Gellions as we pride ourselves on an older Clientele, I am not sure what night you were as I was away on holiday, please do not let this put you off in future as difficult to maintain the highest standards day on day although we try.
Kind Regards
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Popped in for a wee dram. It was live music night. What a treat. Father and son on drums playing fantastic music. This place is popular and boy does it fill up quick. Standing room only folks. Apart from a few youngsters who had too much to drink the staff and patrons are super friendly. Such a great night.

Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, Owner at Gellions Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Glad you enjoyed your night. Davy and young Sam play here often and go down a storm. This time of year unfortunately brings out all the young ones, the staff are good at dealing with it. We haste you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We visited Gellions Bar while on a three day Christmas break in Inverness.

Indeed, it was the only bar we found open on Christmas afternoon after we decided to 'walk off' our Christmas lunch!

The drinks were good and reasonably priced and the staff cheerful and welcoming.

I can see why this bar has stood the test of time.

Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory M, Owner at Gellions Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Glad you enjoyed your visit on Christmas Day, Thank you for the nice review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gellions Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Gellions Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing