We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

kellylg20...
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home ”
Reviewed 23 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Balblair Self Catering Cottages, the Barn, was the best decision made when planning our holiday. We spent a week at the Barn and felt like we were "coming home" every evening from our daily excursions.

The bedrooms were spacious with plenty of closet and drawer space. The bathrooms were spotless and featured towel warmers and heated floors. The kitchen has a washer/dryer unit and dishwasher, along with the handy small appliances. And if you're staying during the colder months, there's a wood stove with plenty of firewood to accompany the heaters.

The view from the cottages, the proximity to popular attractions. And Barbara's thoughtful hospitality make it the perfect place to stay.

We saved a small fortune cooking meals at the Barn. A few trips to Tesco and other local suppliers helped make it easy to prepare home cooked meals.

We HIGHLY RECOMMEND Balblair Self Catering Cottages.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover7...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 31 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A very well appointed cottage worthy of its 5 star rating. Barbara is welcoming and very hospitable.
The grandchildren will miss the ponies in the back garden. This is our first visit and we hope not our last.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
We are delighted with your 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Barn at Balblair Self Catering Cottages. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amacdon8
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Location - Had a Great Time”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The location is cracking, beautiful countryside, sheep, lambs, a couple of horses and Bob the dog came to visit. The cottage was spacious, clean and clearly well looked after. Barbara was there to welcome us and was always available if we needed her. The location is great, just a few mins from Inverness airport....some obvious advice is that you are in the countryside so you need a car....thank you for a wonderful time and great memories....my family would all happily recommend Balblair cottages

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation! We are delighted that you enjoyed the countryside location of Balblair Cottages and that the Barn cottage was spacious, clean and ideal for your family holiday. Best wishes, Barbara, Balblair Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
1 review
“Wonderful, cosy cottage and perfect location”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed in the Barn over Easter with our two children (7 and 9). The cottage was perfect; warm and cosy (it snowed on a couple of days), comfy beds and everything we could possibly need. It's perfectly located for Inverness Airport, Inverness and Nairn, but you're still in the countryside with beautiful views across the Moray Firth. Barbara and her mum and dad were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay again, and would recommend to anyone planning a family holiday in Nairnshire.

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
586cathyf
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We first stayed here 14 years ago and always said that one day we would bring any children we had to visit this beautiful area of the UK. In August 2017 we had saved up enough money to bring our 12 year old twin boys back to the Scottish Highlands and staying here again was the only place we considered - nothing could be better or more perfect.
The Strachan Family are lovely - friendly and full of lots of useful information. We loved feeding the ponies and playing with Bob the dog. The Barn is stunning - glorious views, peaceful and quiet, immaculate decoration, brilliant well equipped, warm and comfortable. We all slept brilliantly well and it was a welcoming 'home' to come back to after a day of exploring!
I could go on, but I almost don't want to say too many wonderful things, in case it becomes too popular and we can't get a booking again for next year!!
Thank you Barbara and family, we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Cathy, Luke, Robbie and Jossie xxxx

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Dear Cathy, Luke, Robbie and Jossie

Thank you for your amazing review!!! We are absolutely delighted that you chose to revisit us and had a brilliant stay :) We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Barbara & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.