We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely B&B near Fort William” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilmalyn Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmalyn Guest House
Ranked #62 of 121 Fort William B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely B&B near Fort William”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a family room at Kilmalyn without reading reviews or comparing it to other nearby B&Bs....I am normally a "planner"- but last minute changes required that we book whatever was available in the area- and that could accomodate a family of 3, as many B&Bs do not welcome children. Upon arrival at Kilmalyn, the hosts greeted us with a warm welcome, along with their adorable young daughter, who wanted to help carry our bags to our room. My son (age 7) instantly felt "at home", as this is a very child-friendly guest house- he loved visiting the hens, the rabbit, and playing with the little girl- instant friends!

Our room was lovely and very comfortable- very tastefully decorated with a wonderful modern bathroom. The home-made shortbread in the room was a real treat! Even though there are 3 (very well-behaved) children living in the house, it was very peaceful and quiet- we all slept very soundly. We loved having various options for breakfast- it was absolutely delicious- fresh eggs from the hens and home-made berry jam, I only wish we could have stayed longer at this truly delightful guest house!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaTruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

i stayed at this bb with my parents and we had a lovely family room. norman and jillian have decorated the whole house and especially the guest rooms with excellent taste (you have to see the amazing bathroom). just a few miles away from fort william it is the right place to stay at when you're in that area. breakfast was delicious too! you should definitely visit this bb, as it is one of the best in scotland!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Our hosts were friendly, attentitive,knowledgeable and cooked a great breakfast. Although on the outskirts of Corpach, the B & B is very accessible to all the sights in the Fort Williams area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodiepjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The owners of this B&B were nice, very friendly and helpful. It looks like a normal farm house from outside but when you enter the rooms, they are spacious and with elegant deco. The rooms were clean and there were homemade scottish shortbread welcoming you in the room. The house is located on a road en-route to Fort William, providing good access to Fort Williams and Ben Nevis. The breakfast room was cozy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerInCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

A very good B & B with very spacious and nicely decorated rooms. The styles of the rooms differ greatly: from modern to traditional but everything is brand new. Breakfast is very good and you are sitting in a cozy room with a fire on during breakfast. The hosts were friendly. The train line close by is not disturbing: the train is only passing 3 times in 24hours and even then you can barely hear it. The view is not spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.3 km away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#26 of 121 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#15 of 121 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 km away
Lochan Cottage Guest House
Lochan Cottage Guest House
#13 of 121 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 km away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#28 of 121 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmalyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmalyn Guest House

Property: Kilmalyn Guest House
Address: Corpach, Fort William PH33 7JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price range (per night): RM517 - RM665
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed and breakfast accommodation 4 miles from Fort William, with fantastic views across the loch to the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilmalyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmalyn Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing