We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
177
282
132
59
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
282
132
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays shearings holiday driver steve shearings hotels shearings group evening entertainment dining room coach trip self drive half board weekend break loch view bus stop buffet breakfast meal times hotel staff great weekend
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

stayed 2nd-6th april, last stayed 2005 there has been a lot of refurbishment since then.our room was clean toilet and shower fine ,we had upgraded and had a scenic view of the loch, breakfast was help yourself. entertainment was ok well we enjoyed it.as for the staff well what can i say other than brilliant. thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We have had a lot of changes since your last visit and I'm pleased you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Nice hotel overlooking lochside with views of mountains behind. Very friendly and helpful staff. First class buffet breakfast with plenty of bacon, etc, I particularly liked the herb sausages. Also a good choice of meals in the evening, and I liked the fact you could move through to lounge after meal to help yourself to coffee and tea. We went with 2 friends with my wife and asked for ground floor rooms, which we got and my wife felt cold on arriving and staff provided us with oil radiator until central heating warmed up our room. Entertainment in the evening and you could stand outside the hotel and put your hand out and local bus (no 44) would take you into Fort William. Same procedure coming back to hotel. Very handy. Nice rooms with latest Smart TV and good quality showers. Could not fault our stay and very good value at £89 each for 3 nights. Would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms, as they are handy, although there is a lift to every floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff, they really do love getting a special mention. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Just returned from a wonderful walking weekend in Fort William and we stayed at the Bay Caledonian Hotel. If you are looking for 4-star and posh, don't stay here. But if you want clean and comfortable rooms, warm with good showest, good food and above all wonderful staff. Then the Bay Caledonian Hotel is the place for you.
We can't thank you all enough for looking after our group of 10 over the weekend, everyone enjoyed there stay immensely.
Regards, Christopher from Footfalls Walking Holidays

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm pleased we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Have stayed here several times before,had four day break this time and again had a most enjoyable stay. Room was clean and comfortable had front facing room so lovely view of the Loch. As always staff are very helpful, the food was excellent, we were given vouchers for four drinks per person per night and entertainment every night all made for a very enjoyable stay. Hope to go back again soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review on your stay with us at the Caledonian, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with Caledonian Travel.
We have been on a few coach trips with Caledonian and Urquart Travel and this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
When you book with either of these companies on a coach trip the cost is very reasonable so you don't expect the Ritz.
On some occassions the hotels are old and need renovating but I like old hotels, the only thing I lookd for is a clean room and good food.
The Bay Caledonian Hotel had everything I could have wanted and was not run down but very well looked after.
Our room was very big and it had a double and single bed in it.
The room was very clean and had everything you needed.
The food was excellent and plenty of it.
The staff were lovely and we had entertainment was very good.
We got 4 vouchers one night which allowed you 4 drinks at the bar and 1 voucher got you a spirit and a mixer which was great.
The hotel is in a lovely location with views of the loch.
Fort William is a lovely place to visit, we walked into the town and it took us around 40 mins and it is a lovley walk right along the waterside.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank S8860JDmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to read. Fort William is a great place to visit and we are situated in a fantastic spot opposite Loch Linnhe. We hope to see you again at the Caledonian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews