We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard(Pitlochry)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atholl Centre(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
147
114
55
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
114
55
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraditional musichaggis lasagnethe main streetmain barpub grubenchanted foresttrain stationbeautiful pitlochryitison voucherno liftfriendly hotellovely mealnice roomshort breakgood nights sleeptwo night staychecking out
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We booked in here for one night on a Sunday afternoon ' got a nice room overlooking the main rd which was not a problem because of double glazing I do think it's a little pricey for one night, I would stay again .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fatrops_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Mckays Hotel Bar & Restaurant.

We are really pleased to hear you were happy with your stay at Mckays.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Spent a long weekend here for our silver wedding anniversary and found the staff very friendly and helpful,our room was the Laphfroaig which was on the opposite side of the main street from the hotel itself, however it was clean,tidy and comfortable with quite a small shower/bathroom but had all the usual amenities, tv, kettle etc.
We arrived at 2.30pm and shown to our room but the maids were still working in it and we were told to come back at 3pm... no big deal had a drink and went back at 3pm and it was ready as promised.
The evening DJ on the Saturday was ok but we had done a "tour" of the other pubs, inns and hotels in Pitlochry before going back to our hotel and found some better and some worse for entertainment.
We enjoyed the sunday night local musicians jam sessions "go as you please" which was very entertaining with lots of traditional music.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was ok but nothing startling and we had a meal in the hotel on Sunday evening, scampi in a basket(served from the chip shop adjoining the restaurant and nearly twice the price) which was only warm and rump steak with chicken breast and all the trimmings which was very nice, served with two drinks each and totaling £55 which we felt was overly priced and not great value for what we got but fell in line with Pitlochry prices in general.Sunday breakfast again was ok but my wife sent her black pudding back,so hard it resembled a ice hockey puck, how the didn't notice is beyond me because we watched them plating up using their fingers.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly return to McKays , the weather was beautiful, it was great to sit outside at the tables and enjoy the sunshine at the front of the hotel watching the world go by with a couple of refreshments.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmagFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant and for giving us your feedback. We take all our Guests feedback very seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however, we are not pleased to hear about the service you received regarding your black pudding on this occasion. We will immediately be retraining all staff, and can assure you this is not our normal high standards of service.

We always give 100% in our customer service to ensure our Guests are leaving us happy and looking forward to their next stay.

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continue to give the absolute best, therefore we do hope you will be back and find we exceed your expectations.

Congratulations again on your Silver Wedding Anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Hotel Room:
Comfortable beds and clean linens. Very cramped en-suite bathroom. No attention to detail - peeling wallpaper, toilet paper not changed, damaged fixtures. Advertised as a 'dog-friendly room' but no amenities (such as a towel) for the dog, also no convenient place to take our dog to the toilet nearby.

The Food:
This is where the hotel really lets itself down. As it was one of the few dog-friendly places we knew of we ate here a few times. Breakfast was poor. Hot food came out cold and the cold food selection was very limited. When we ate dinner here as well we found the food was really overpriced for the quality. I had the steak pie one night with mashed potatoes that we thick and floury (could have easily believed it was Smash) and a pie that was mostly gravy with a couple of meat chunks. The 'Highland Platter' starter we had one night was a joke. £20 for a weird selection of foods that don't go together - including houmous with nothing to actually dip in it! If you stay here over night try to avoid eating here at all costs.

Staff:
Polar opposites - some very friendly, especially with our dog. Some very unfriendly and unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cm2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant and for giving us your feedback. We take all our Guests feedback very seriously.

I am extremely disappointed to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. We will immediately be retraining all staff. I can assure you this is not our normal high standards of service, and I will be reviewing some of our menu choices.

We always give 100% in our customer service to ensure our Guests are leaving us happy and looking forward to their next stay, therefore please accept my sincere apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continue to give the absolute best, therefore we do hope you will be back and find we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Had the roast beef dinner,3 large pieces,roast potatoes,carrots,green beans and cauliflower and a large Yorkshire pudding,lashings of gravy,well worth £10.95,sadly couldn't eat another thing lol,still cant 3 hours later.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 780ladygaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for your brilliant 5* review!

It is wonderful to get such great feedback from our guests. Our team work hard day in day out to try to ensure the service, food and customer experience is 100% satisfactory. I will share your feedback with all staff members who I am sure will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your McKays experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to McKay's again in the very near future when you will hopefully be able to enjoy one of our fantastic desserts after your filling main meal :)

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a birthday weekend away and the hotels location was superb on the high street. The open plan bar is tastefully decorated and a really lovely and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are small but clean and the facilies and food are exactly what you would hope for. Do not stay here if you want a relaxing break away. They have live music on at weekends and the bar on Friday night was ok but the disco on Saturday night was awful and went til 2.30 am keeping us awake.

Great place to visit in Pitlochry but only stay here if you are a night owl

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank barrymclean100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant and for giving us your feedback. We take all our Guests feedback very seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however, we are disappointed you did not fully enjoy the live music or disco on the Saturday night.

We strive to make sure all guests are catered for and enjoy their stay, wether that is a relaxing weekend or a fun filled night out. However, I will make sure that all guests are aware of the live entertainment that we provide is on at the weekends.

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continue to give the absolute best, therefore we do hope you will be back and find we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews