We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic musical night in Pitlochry Theatre also enjoyed the local Ospreys, Loch of Lowes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We arrived early and had lunch/dinner in the hotel.
Service was long and slow
Once the meal was served we thought the waiter had gone home and had to search the bar for someone to pay the bill to.
£42 for two drinks (1 beer, 1 small wine) 1 x fish n chips and a baked goats cheese salad!

Ok, so a blip.
No sign posts for Hotel car park but there is one, we presume its the hotels, at the rear . No one asked me my reg so it might be a free for all.

Room was across the road not in the main hotel building, see above comments

Breakfast was terrible
The waitress who had taken our order and delivered my one cup of coffee, had to ask us if we had actually ordered, honestly we don't normally complain, ever.
Yes we had ordered and within seconds our breakfast arrived, cold bacon, cold beans cold scrambled eggs and the plates were stone cold as well.
We sent it back and it all went in the bin, (30 seconds in the microwave might have done the job)
Anyway breakfast number 2 arrives no beans, plates stone cold and everything except the egg still only luke warm.

Ate what we could and left
Can I suggest a plate warmer in the kitchen

checking out ,
"everything ok"
"no breakfast was terrible"........, no comment no apology !

No discount, Hotel had already taken my money.




눇Location right in the middle of town super
Apart from..... the quirky ...follow me ...its the room across the road, above the pizza shop.
Ok in the dry but a bit inconvenient in the morning for breakfast, crossing the main road in the rain !
Actual room was comfortable enough though and surprisingly quite.
Small en-suite, not quite finished bare wood behind the WC and the cheapest loo paper ever.

Room Tip: there is an un signposted car park at the rear if you really want to go or just use the free car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gardinersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review McKays Restaurant Bar & restaurant. It is important that when we get things wrong that we are informed in order to correct our mistakes and for your suggestions.

Secondly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. This is certainly not how we expect things to be here, therefore I will be forwarding your review to all staff members and arranging an in depth retraining session also, including the kitchen staff.

I would like to talk to you personally about your review so we can rectify the problems you had. Please email me directly using the email address provided on our website or call the hotel and ask for myself (Andrew)

We hope to welcome you back to McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant in the near future to see the improvements we have made.

King Regards
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Had a great steak with chips for dinner in the bar and had a really fun time with the sing-a-long entertainment. Very busy place to the servers were sometimes difficult to get a hold of but the service was good and friendly. Great night with some good Scottish food and music.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel ~ was only a diner and that was very good!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank margaretwhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for your great review!

It is wonderful to get such great feedback from our guests. Our team work hard day in day out to try to ensure the service, food and guest rooms are always 100% satisfactory.

I will share your feedback with all staff members who I am sure will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your McKays experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to McKay's again in the very near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We booked in here for one night on a Sunday afternoon ' got a nice room overlooking the main rd which was not a problem because of double glazing I do think it's a little pricey for one night, I would stay again .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fatrops_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Mckays Hotel Bar & Restaurant.

We are really pleased to hear you were happy with your stay at Mckays.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Spent a long weekend here for our silver wedding anniversary and found the staff very friendly and helpful,our room was the Laphfroaig which was on the opposite side of the main street from the hotel itself, however it was clean,tidy and comfortable with quite a small shower/bathroom but had all the usual amenities, tv, kettle etc.
We arrived at 2.30pm and shown to our room but the maids were still working in it and we were told to come back at 3pm... no big deal had a drink and went back at 3pm and it was ready as promised.
The evening DJ on the Saturday was ok but we had done a "tour" of the other pubs, inns and hotels in Pitlochry before going back to our hotel and found some better and some worse for entertainment.
We enjoyed the sunday night local musicians jam sessions "go as you please" which was very entertaining with lots of traditional music.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was ok but nothing startling and we had a meal in the hotel on Sunday evening, scampi in a basket(served from the chip shop adjoining the restaurant and nearly twice the price) which was only warm and rump steak with chicken breast and all the trimmings which was very nice, served with two drinks each and totaling £55 which we felt was overly priced and not great value for what we got but fell in line with Pitlochry prices in general.Sunday breakfast again was ok but my wife sent her black pudding back,so hard it resembled a ice hockey puck, how the didn't notice is beyond me because we watched them plating up using their fingers.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly return to McKays , the weather was beautiful, it was great to sit outside at the tables and enjoy the sunshine at the front of the hotel watching the world go by with a couple of refreshments.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmagFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant and for giving us your feedback. We take all our Guests feedback very seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however, we are not pleased to hear about the service you received regarding your black pudding on this occasion. We will immediately be retraining all staff, and can assure you this is not our normal high standards of service.

We always give 100% in our customer service to ensure our Guests are leaving us happy and looking forward to their next stay.

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continue to give the absolute best, therefore we do hope you will be back and find we exceed your expectations.

Congratulations again on your Silver Wedding Anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Hotel Room:
Comfortable beds and clean linens. Very cramped en-suite bathroom. No attention to detail - peeling wallpaper, toilet paper not changed, damaged fixtures. Advertised as a 'dog-friendly room' but no amenities (such as a towel) for the dog, also no convenient place to take our dog to the toilet nearby.

The Food:
This is where the hotel really lets itself down. As it was one of the few dog-friendly places we knew of we ate here a few times. Breakfast was poor. Hot food came out cold and the cold food selection was very limited. When we ate dinner here as well we found the food was really overpriced for the quality. I had the steak pie one night with mashed potatoes that we thick and floury (could have easily believed it was Smash) and a pie that was mostly gravy with a couple of meat chunks. The 'Highland Platter' starter we had one night was a joke. £20 for a weird selection of foods that don't go together - including houmous with nothing to actually dip in it! If you stay here over night try to avoid eating here at all costs.

Staff:
Polar opposites - some very friendly, especially with our dog. Some very unfriendly and unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cm2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review McKays Hotel Bar & Restaurant and for giving us your feedback. We take all our Guests feedback very seriously.

I am extremely disappointed to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. We will immediately be retraining all staff. I can assure you this is not our normal high standards of service, and I will be reviewing some of our menu choices.

We always give 100% in our customer service to ensure our Guests are leaving us happy and looking forward to their next stay, therefore please accept my sincere apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continue to give the absolute best, therefore we do hope you will be back and find we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 km away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
212 reviews
0.5 km away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
0.4 km away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#10 of 65 in Pitlochry
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
0.4 km away
The Well House
The Well House
#30 of 65 in Pitlochry
117 reviews
6.9 km away
Red Brolly Inn
Red Brolly Inn
#1 of 1 in Ballinluig
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Address: 138 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AG, Scotland (Formerly Macdonalds Restaurant & Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: RM189 - RM1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing