We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$115
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
US$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
332
340
181
78
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
340
181
78
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsscenic viewcoach holidaycaledonian travelshearings breakmanager chrisdining rooma la carte menujacuzzi and saunacoach driverleisure facilitiesfolk singerevening entertainmentsuperior roomhalf boardrestaurant manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent four nights at this hotel on a half board basis.
The hotel rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfasts are buffet style self service, and there is plenty of good quality food to choose from ( full cooked breakfast, or continental ). The food is replenished frequently and is always fresh.
Dinner provides both a Table D’Hote and an A la Carte menu. Once again the food is very good quality and is a good portion size.
The staff, in all areas, are very efficient, pleasant, and helpful.
This is an excellent hotel and is extremely comfortable and reasonably priced.
Looking forward to a return visit next year.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Normieb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and what a lovely five star review to cheer us all up for Easter.
The team are delighted as am I, we all work very hard and the new seasonal staff are settled and well versed now and ready for the season ahead..... that's what I keep telling myself anyway !
You mention you will return which is great news.
Thanks a million
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a most enjoyable 2 night stay.It is a 4 star hotel and is really a dejlightful old style hotel with many wood burning fires in the very comfortable lounges.The décor is most relaxing.The food is first class.and is served by very polite
foreign staff..The room we had was spacious and warm with comfortable beds..They have a lovely pool and spa.
The only down side for us was the breakfast.There was a great assortment but unfortunately the food was cold.....No covers on food to retain the heat..
I hope the management take this to heart as everything else could not be faulted.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms would be very comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happychappie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, it looks like you have reviewed the wrong hotel as we don't have fires burning anywhere.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for one night, we had a room on the first floor just over the main door. In terms of positives, the room was quiet, parking was convenient, the dining pool was fantastic and the view was superb! However the room was painted in grey with one small picture above the bed, it was a little dark (insufficient lighting) and the bed was not the most comfortable!

Perhaps the rooms upstairs are a higher spec, but we certainly felt that £92 for what we got was rather expensive.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chief270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, sorry we didn't quite manage to wow you whilst not necessarily disappointing you either.
Grey seems to be a bit of an 'in' colour these days and I will look at the lighting to see if that can be improved. We do have higher spec rooms that come with a higher tariff dotted throughout the building and we often offer some of the best value to be had in the area.
Thanks for the post and if there is a next time hopefully we can impress you then.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel but check in at 3 seemed a bit late. Lovely warm room. No issues at all and very clean plenty of tea and coffee. Staff on the whole were very helpful and attentive. Only 4 stars as the evening dining experience felt a bit like a conveyor belt....lined up in rows. Food on set menu was obviously pre prepared as it appeared very fast and although perfectly edible it was just little things....the poppadum was cold and had been left to stand then warmed up again so very rubbery. Cheesecake was drowned in cream with no option to have it without as the waiter said they were all prepared with cream. Ate off the a la carte menu and it was superb. With the discount the meals are very reasonable with a good choice of dishes. Pool area is lovely. Very clean as are all the facilities. Pool was a bit chilly So I gave that a miss but the Jacuzzi was wonderful. Sat entertainment was a Glasgow lad. He was billed as a singer but really funny with great descriptions of going to the dancing in Govan. Very good value for money and would definatly go again. Thankyou Hydro.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there and thanks for the four star review....it's appreciated. At any time of the year it is crucial that we offer great value for money and I am always satisfied when I read that a customer feels the same way I do.
Glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities and the entertainment.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me & my partner spent a few days & nights relaxing in this lovely hydro we didnt want to leave beautiful old building inside & outside the staff are very welcoming do anything to make your stay a good one it has a lovely swimming pool with a Chilout also shower area side of pool also a sauna you don.t need your own towels they are supplied at the pool for you they have lockers for your cloths .Rooms are lovely spotless to bar area also lovely & you have lovely place to go right on your door step .so give it a go you no you want to Enjoy and just chill

Stayed: September 2017
Thank christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,Thanks a lot for such a lovely review.... only occasionally do i get the chance to relax here but I know an awful lot of customers get the opportunity every time they come.....its encouraged in fact.
Thanks for the endorsement and hopefully you will be back for much of the same.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews