We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A snug hide away with heart, soul and brilliant...”
other traveller has booked this property
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
View from the sofa Open plan kitchen / dining / livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Living area with log burner with views across the glen
View from the sofa
Open plan kitchen / dining / livingroom
The courtyard
Super kingsize or full size twin beds
Walk in shower
The living room with hand made pallet wood light fitting
View from bedroom through to open plan living area
Cow Shed 2 decking
The kitchen area - hand made from pallet wood, with a poured concrete worktop
Wood burner & kitchen dining area
Ensuite bathroom detail
My straw bale wall with light feature on small shelf
Aerial view of our Glen with Lettoch centre photo
A view from Loch Ordie - a favourite local walk
The Lettoch group of buildings, including The Cow Shed & Cow Shed 2
A common early morning mist below us in the valley bottom
Loch Dunmore near Pitlochry
Autumn colours - looking towards Lettoch - on the hill in the middle distance
Winter sun on our local munro
Red deer stags on the hill behind us
The view south from the courtyard
Courtyard flowers
Courtyard flowers
The view north from the hill behind us - 45 minutes walk from the back door
Looking south from the hill behind us
Looking south from the front door - morning mist
View from the south looking towards Lettoch - centre of photo on the far hillside
Lettoch is centre photo, just below the denser patch of trees. Taken from the other side of the glen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Growyouro...
Lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A snug hide away with heart, soul and brilliant views”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Kirsty and Steve have created a really special place here and have clearly put their heart and soul into the place. The result is an intelligent and imaginative conversion from Cowshed to a really snug and unique hideaway. The views are stunning and I could have gazed out the main sitting room window all day, making use of the binoculars provided to have a look out for interesting wildlife on the hillsides opposite. There are lots of thoughtful touches throughout - from the use of local materials like tweed to make the curtains, plates and cups are Scottish stone wear and of course you can't miss Steve's passion for converting the humble white pallet into amazing wall coverings, furniture and lights. Welcoming treats such as local honey and oatcakes completes the impression that these folks understand what classy and creative hospitality is about. The place was absolutely spotless by the way and it felt like we were the first to stay with that 'like new' feeling everywhere. Kirsty and Steve are very caring hosts and do everything they can to ensure your stay will be smooth and seamless from the moment you book.
The location and style of the place is suited to outdoor lovers, especially walkers, with an eye for style and comfort. In wintery conditions you would be advised to have a 4 wheel drive car to get up the final part of the approach as its steep and unlikely to be gritted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely calm interior design
Liked least: bathroom light a little bright if you need to get up to the loo in the night - difficult not to wake your bedfellow!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thanks for your kind comments Jo. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and it's great to know that all the hard labour gone into making both Cow Sheds great is very much appreciated. You're right about the road. In winter, if we have a lot of snow the road can be tricky for two wheel drive cars. It can be a minor issue for a few weeks of the year but with our warmer climate it's unpredictable. Kirsty & I live right next door to the Cow Sheds and we have a 4x4 so we're on hand to help transport luggage and shopping if needed and there's a good place with ample parking where locals leave their cars on the lane about 400m down the hill from us - a nice walk with a good pair of boots. As it happens we haven't had to help anyone yet but I'm sure the time will come. We have had a few people expressing a desire to be snowed in however! We do get snowed in maybe a couple of times a year for a day or so & we love it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmachar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Firelog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeborahSc...
Scotland
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved this cottage. Its perfect for a couple's break. The cottage has everything you need including many luxuries and nice little touches. Steve was great - friendly and helpful. We would love to return in the summer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How unique the property is
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelrevi...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the moment we booked to the moment we departed the customer service was excellent. Upon arrival the cottage was easy to find in the dark and as soon as you waked in it was like 'WOW'.
The Cow Shed 2 has all the necessitates that you would expect along with a roaring open fire. The fire really kept the place really cosy and once inside you did not realise that the A9 was so close. The kitchen was well stocked and the bed was very comfortable. Overall our visit to the Cow Shed was excellent and definitely somewhere we would return to in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing