We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to avoid”
Review of Prince of India

Prince of India
Ranked #30 of 63 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$67
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Prince of India opened in July 1994 and has been Pitlochry's Indian restaurant ever since. The chef was trained in Dhaka the capital of Bangladesh, the menu has a huge sellection of dishes to choose from.
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Unless you like slow unfriendly service delivered without any charm or any apology, look elsewhere. When the food came it was very poor. The bread was fat stodgy and undercooked, the chicken was lumps of processed meat in a sauce that looked and tasted as though it might kill. By far the best part of the meal was the rice which was well cooked. At over £20 per person for main course only excluding any drinks this place would be out of business if it had any local competitors.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2021

I should start this review by stating that we come from the Balti Capital of England (Birmingham) we’re we are surrounded by (mostly) good quality (food-wise) Indian restaurants. So we’re aware that we’re spoiled and it is why we very rarely eat Indian when we’re away from home.
We can’t remember why we decided to eat at The Prince of India, but it was a mistake. The curry was infinitely less good than any curry I can make, and indeed have made, at home. There were no onions, no chillies, very little by way of spices and virtually no taste. It was exactly as if a tin or packet mix of curry sauce from a supermarket had been poured over the meat. It was a most unrewarding experience and most definitely was not value for money.
We’re looking for to a decent curry when we get home!
And the customer service was poor too. The waiter was very officious and unfriendly. He seemed to be desperate to finish his shift and get off home.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 696cliffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

when i read the review about meal served on a tea trolley i had to write something . all decent indian restaurants bring out the meals in this way so this reviewer has clearly never been to one in his life
we are seasoned curry fans and eat indian food at least once a week and i've been to india loads of times too both north and south . this was a great restaurant run by bangladeshis which tbf most are . food was stunning from start to finish . highly recommend this to any curry connoisseur

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Quest02433595440
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

My wife and I had an excellent meal in this restaurant, service was great, staff were great, food was fabulous. We’d be happy to return.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank chrismM8291YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021

AVOID. Arrived on Saturday looking forward to our meal. Service atrocious. Food bland and served on a tea trolley. Disgusting.

Waitress's attitude terrible.

One main meal and two starters and three drinks £70.

We would never return.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Resort260968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Prince of India also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Prince of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.