We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional stay + a little bit extra”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tuffty998
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay + a little bit extra”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

On first enquiring about the availability of Swan Bothy through to completion of my booking Diane was always quick to reply to any of my queries.
The description of Swan Bothy doesn't do it justice....it offers more than is described.
When we arrived we had a warm welcome from Diane followed by some simple well needed tuition on how to use the hot-tub. Moving onto the Bothy the use of the thermorstat, washing machine ,dryer, and dishwasher were explained. As soon as I stepped into the Bothy I felt relaxed and at ease. Not only is it sparkly clean it is very roomy and the layout lets you move around comfortably.There were welcome treats to be enjoyed my favourite had to be the tunnocks teacakes followed by homemade bread.
The chickens run free and they are a joy to watch as are the swans on the loch, its so peacefull and in idylic surroundings .The attention to detail to ensure whatever your age its geared up for your enjoyment and it is so well thought out BBQ, FirePIt, Summer House
Ayr is about 4miles away and that was my chosen place to do our big grocery shopping however, Coylton is 2 miles away and they have a well stocked Spar and an amazing fish and chip shop.
Swan Bothy will be our retreat from here on in and we are very much looking forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks so so much for your kind words. We are thrilled with your review and look forward to meeting you again soon.
Take care Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superwing...
Livingston, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant beyond brilliance.”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I'm not quite sure where to begin. Ok, just go there! How's that?
My wonderful wife booked us a wonderful weekend break at this wonderful hidden gem of a wonderful cottage. We had a wonderful time - needless to say!

A Tardis like cottage the like of which, as we do, you'd love to own. Huge kitchen, huge family living room and an equally spacious master bedroom this property offers everything you'd ever need for a break away. A secluded and quiet loch side dwelling with views over a Scottish Site of Special Interest water way - the like of which will draw you to want to stay forever - this cottage is as idyllic as they come.

Hens fussing around, birds feasting eagerly on the feed table and swans gliding majestically across Martnaham Loch just epitomise what this location has to offer. There's a Fairy Trail, a Troll Trail, table tennis and a fire pit, oh yeah, and a roasting hot spa too.

You'll arrive to a kitchen of local produce. Eggs, milk, fresh fruit, some bubbly and marshmallows to toast on the open fire in the living room. Ayr town centre is only five miles away if you don't fancy eating in.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night break here and already planning to return early next year. If you don't enjoy your time here then I'm afraid it's your own fault!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Wow thank you so much for your spectacular review it’s much appreciated.

Look forwards to seeing you both next year.
Thank you Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect relaxing and luxurious cottage in beautiful rural location”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is perfect for a relaxing break with so many added extras thoughtfully provided by Diane and William to make your stay even more memorable. Beautiful loch-side setting with abundant wildlife. Hens and bees for eggs and honey and garden produce also available. Amazing hot tub!
The cottage is close to Ayr for provisions and it is easy to reach so many places of interest such as Dumfries House, Culzean Castle, Brig o Doon, the coast, across to Arran or over to Glasgow. Many places to eat out nearby.
We had a fabulous holiday and will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Dear guests

Many thanks for your fabulous review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday and honeymoon. Look forward to meeting you again.
Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0lef20...
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Sawn Bothy is a gorgeous cottage in a lovely setting. It has 5 bedrooms, a shower room and bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. I loved the open fire in the livingroom, the table tennis in the garden and of course the hot tub! We spent a lovely relaxing week at The Swan Bothy, would definitely recommend it to both couples and families alike.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review it's really appreciated Carole and Darren. We hope to see you both again soon.
Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlewis560
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location with a touch of luxury.”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

As a family of four, we spent a lovely week at Swan Bothy. It is in a perfect location overlooking the loch - Private and peaceful, yet only 5 miles from the town of Ayr, its beaches and amenities. Diane and William made us feel very welcome with the gifts on arrival a lovely touch. The hot tub (with robes provided) was luxurious and everything about the cottage manages to combine a cosy luxury feel, with practicality. There are lots of things to see and places to explore within a short drive, but our kids loved playing table tennis it was sometimes difficult to get them in the car. We are already planning a return trip!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you all return soon.
Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing