We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rose P
Worcestershire, United Kingdom

One night stayover

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024
Comfortable stay at the hotel, really easy to find and good free parking options. Hotel was clean and rooms spacious with the bed being very comfortable, reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. Only feedback we had was the breakfast was a poor standard, food was overcooked with little choice and not edible, orange juice tasted so concentrated and cheap. We ended up getting breakfast elsewhere once we left as was hungry.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2024
RosePReview, thanks for the amazing review.

See you soon!
All the best, Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 556
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 454
  • Agoda.com
    RM 406
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to the Days Inn Hamilton
RM 453
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    RM 377
  • Expedia.com
    RM 375
  • Hotels.com
    RM 378
1.2 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
RM 425
  • Expedia.com
    RM 425
  • Priceline
    RM 425
  • Hotels.com
    RM 425
1.9 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 757
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 757
  • Agoda.com
    RM 758
  • eDreams
    RM 757
1.7 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 374
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Double Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 712
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    RM 404
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 818
RM 636
  • Expedia.com
    RM 637
  • Priceline
    RM 706
  • Hotels.com
    RM 637
2.5 km from Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hamilton
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
261
269
99
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
269
99
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park sausage beans free parking shopping centre included in the price business trip reception staff comfy bed hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Down in the area for a weekend of football. No issues getting parked and checked in with ease at 5pm. Room was a good size with everything needed including a sofa bed and free wifi. Kept the girlfriend happy by visiting the local Primark and McDonalds which are both within a 5 min walk albeit in opposite directions.

Drove upto to New Douglas Park which was also a 5 min drive away. On my return from the football purchased a Magners and Jack Daniels (£12!) from the bar in anticipation of a knee trembler however no such luck.

Was awoken at 1am with somebody trying to use their keycard to enter our room however not the fault of the hotel and managed to get back off to sleep.

Went for a run past the Davie Cooper statue and around Strathclyde Country Park in the morning which is just across the motorway.

Had a decent cooked breakfast before departing at 11am.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trail66669913291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Thanks for the review!

We're so pleased to hear you had a lovely time judging from your feedback.

All the best,
Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

Room was super comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good. Overall a great hotel for a night out in Hamilton. I stay fairly often as it’s cheaper than getting taxis in and back from Glasgow. The hotel has a few extra facilities too - there is a good choice of bedding, an ice machine, a direct link to a reliable taxi company and good parking in the retail park next door.
There’s also an iron and a fan in the room, you can control the heating, and can open the windows for fresh air. All little things but they add up to a very comfortable stay

Room tip: Remember to add your car registration at the machine at reception. The main doors close around midnight but your key will open them
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AkaLegallyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

We appreciate your kind words!

We enjoy reading reviews like yours - we're all about making customers happy. We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best, Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

If I was rating on reception and front of house staff both at on arrival and in the evening Tess (reception) and Holly (bar) would get 5*.

Accommodation
Bland and inviting. Would have given the room 1*. No bed side table which made it difficult to have a drink by the side of the bed (room 231). Our second room (for my son) was much nicer.

Breakfast - couldn’t believe it finished at 9.30. We tried to get a seat at 8.30 then 9 and finally managed to get seated 9.25. Luckily I got breakfast as I’ve never seen a IHG breakfast service cleared away so fast. By 9.40 everything had gone. This would have attracted zero rating.

As a IHG loyal customer who has been to many of your hotels. I suggest a few tweaks could improve this hotels rating. We asked for two bedrooms so you could have assigned us both side of the door (that separated my room and the room next door) who were particularly loud (not IHGs fault).
Have bedside cabinets next to all beds
Many some art work on the walls.

Breakfast in the holiday periods should mirror weekends. But the weekend times was 10am which again it’s usually 10:30-11 in some of your other hotels. But a 9.30 finish is still early even for a week day.

Thought 3* was a generous reflection. Please can you thank Tess in particular as she went over and above when we had to book a second night. Thank you.

Room tip: Get to breakfast early Shops surrounding it are quite good
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wander18260606319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024


Wander18260606319, thanks for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel.

We're grateful for your lovely words about Tess and Holly, we'll let them know about your comments.

Usually, we'd assign rooms beside each other for a booking, although this is dependent on room type as we have different room types across the floors. Please get in touch if you're staying again and we'll let you know what's possible.

We appreciate your comments about the breakfast times and this is always something we're monitoring.

Hopefully, we'll welcome you back in 2024.

All the best,
Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023

I really enjoyed my time last week, had breakfast and an overnight stay. Hotel was cheap and affordable with great service and lovely staff, apart from one…
I witnessed this staff member (named “Ester”) being extremely rude and condensing to her colleagues and cutting corners in her work. I overheard that she was a new start, but judging by her age, she should by now know how to properly interact in a work place environment with customer AND her coworkers. I was extremely disappointed in her manner and if I knew she would be at the reception or serving breakfast, I would not return on that day. But other than that, great hotel, great prices, great stay.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

We appreciate your feedback, Colleen!

Feedback like yours is valued by the whole team. We're sorry the service didn't live up to the standard we're known for. Your feedback will be shared with the team to make sure we do better. Hoping to see you again soon.

All the best, Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Firstly, the staff are amazing. Friendly and efficient.

The room (and whole hotel) was spotlessly clean and a reasonable size.
The shower was excellent.
Tea/coffee facilities good but no bottled water - although they will gladly provide tap water at the bar and this was great. There is an ice machine too - don't see that often in a UK hotel.

The street and roundabout outside was really busy but the sound insulation was excellent, couldn't hear a thing from the room.

We used this as a base to visit family and this was a good location, minutes form the motorway.

There is a good retail park next door - this is where the free parking is.

The hotel dropped a point due to the bed. Although the pillows/mattress were fine and the linen clean, it was just so very small. My husband didn't feel 100% and this and the small bed caused us to toss and turn for 2 nights. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but checked out after 2, just to get home to our own bed.

The other issue was breakfast. There was a cooked selection but no eggs!!! We always have eggs for breakfast. We just ended up with some toast. The fruit juice was watery and the coffee machine produced awful coffee. We didn't have breakfast on day 2.

Would I stay again - probably not and just purely down to the bed. The room rate was very reasonable and so having breakfast outside instead is no biggie.

Thanks again to the lovely ladies on reception......and the very friendly lady at breakfast - petite, dark hair and grey suit.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Molly1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

We appreciate your kind words, Molly.

It's not every day that we get feedback as detailed and thoughtful as yours. Your comment has given us valuable insight into the services that we provide at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton. We are sorry to see you had issues with the breakfast. Please know that our team are available 24/7 to help with any issues that might happen during your stay.

Hoping to see you again soon.

All the best, Eva - Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews