We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nia Roo

Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay Kitchen at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Kitchen at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Kirtchen at Nia Roo,Bowmore, Islay
Double bedroom at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Double bedroom at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Twin room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Bowmore Harbour Islay
Bath/shower room at Niaroo, Bowmore, Islay
Nia Roo garden Bowmore Islay
Lochindaal looking to Bowmore Islay
Ariel photo of Bowmore Islay
Geese on Lochindaal Islay
Lagavulin Jazz Festival Islay
Lossit Bay The Rhinns Islay
Sun Sea and Sand at Machir Bay
Finlaggan through the trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here for one week in June it was both our first trip to Islay and we could not have asked for a better location to stay this cottage was in a great location and had everything needed it was very cosy and the bed extremely comfortable. Jean was very helpful and the Whisky supplied is a very nice touch, we would have no hesitation recommending this cottage and would book with Jean again next time we were coming back to beautiful Islay. Whisky is great on the Island and I enjoyed my visit to all 9 distilleries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you David for reviewing our cottage, I am so glad you had a great stay in Nia Roo and on Islay. I hope you did the distilleries justice!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you Jeremy I am so glad you enjoyed staying in Nia Roo. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us and exploring a bit more of our lovely island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Dec 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Nia Roo and I was only too happy to help, hopefully we'll see you again soon. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peder G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cottage perfectly located next to Bowmore destillery”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Situated next to Bowmore Destillery Nia Roo was perfect as the base for our Islay destillery tour. From the sittning Rom we had a perfect view right into the malting flor at Bowmore just Aros the street. At our arrival we found a decanter of whisky to welcome us. The cottage came with all the amenities that could be expected and more. The owner, Jean, answered any questions that we had in just a few hours. We would love to visit Bowmore and Nia Roo again.
Thanks Jean.

//Peder Grip

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you Peder, I am so glad Nia Roo enhanced your Islay adventure! We very much look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.

All the best

Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage Phil. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Nia Roo and our lovely island. It was a good choice for a last minute short break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing