We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Good Value ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbotsford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night en route to tge Highlands. We arrived at 11.30am and we're able to check in early. We then decided to have lunch we each had a starter main course dessert and a coffee also a coke and pint lager. The food is do tasty and the choice is amazing and the prices are such good value. We had a twin room with a huge shower. Breakfast was fabulous really tasty. ALL the staff were brilliant. Cannot fault it will be back. THANK YOU.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

I am about to leave the hotel following an excellent overnight stay. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and modern bathroom. I have just had a tasty cooked breakfast served by attentive, efficient staff. Excellent value and if you are touring the area the hotel is perfectly situated for travel to the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park and is just 20 minutes or so from Glasgow city centre.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We visited Dumbarton to find information on our Scottish ancestors and found the Abbotsford conveniently situated for this purpose. The reception staff were extremely helpful in suggesting where we go to find family details, e.g. The Dumbarton library. Although the hotel doesn't look much from the outside and the internal decor is a wee bit dated it is clean and well maintained. We ate in their restaurant both nights of our stay and enjoyed the meals. The pub and restaurant is well supported by the locals and there is a nice homely atmosphere. Overall a comfy and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book a room on the side away from the Stirling Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColinAd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at the Abbotsford a number of times over the last few years whilst on business. Although the exterior would put many off as it looks like a carpet warehouse, the interior is clean albeit dated. The rooms are basic but clean. Some have been updated, some not. Either way, they are comfortable. The biggest selling point for the Abbotsford is the food. Very good value, large portions, large choice! The staff are fantastic, friendly and cannot do enough for you. If you want a homely hotel with great food, I would recommend giving the Abbotsford a try.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank GedTheCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Easy to park because there is plenty of space.
Spacious and not overcrowded dining room.
Seating is organized so that you don't rub shoulders with other customers and you are not easily overheard.
The staff are efficient and very pleasant.
Service with a smile and seem to be genuinely interested in the customers well being and satisfaction.
Lunch was truly lovely. Well cooked and tasty. We will be back there soon. Please get in some Coke Zero for next time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
27.7 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.8 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
31.7 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
562 reviews
31.3 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbotsford Hotel

Address: Stirling Road, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dumbarton
Price Range: RM346 - RM461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton
The Abbotsford Hotel Dumbarton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing