We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ground - New Find!”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just spent 3 nights in The Old Ground and this is one of the friendliest and best finds in Ireland. The food is beautiful and whether you are having their delicious breakfast, lunch in the bar, coffee in the residents drawing room or dinner in their elegant dining room, you will not be disappointed. The staff are so welcoming and attentive that you feel that they know you. We would recommend this hotel lovely old hotel to anyone seeking somewhere with character and a real sense of the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the front or over the car park at the side. These rooms will have a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brecht56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,287 - 1,291 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Wonderful old hotel just by the Cathedral in this lovely County Clare town. Confortable room, excellent breakfast, great music in the evening in the Poet's Bar.

Room Tip: Learn the hotel's history - get a typed page from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RovingMike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for weekend break in february 2012. Its right in the heart of ennis and has adequate parking at the rear. We really enjoyed our stay we upgraded to a delux room which only cost an extra 30 euro for the two nights. It was worth it as the room was spacious and had a very comfortable six foot bed.we opted for two nights b&b and one evening dinner. The breakfast was not a buffet except for cereals etc and everything was cooked fresh and simply delicious. The evening meal was top class we ordered from the set meal but could have ordered from the al la carte to the value of 28 euro per person. The meal was exceptional and great value. I would reccomend this hotel and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dussher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We really enjoyed our one-night stay in Ennis at the Old Ground Hotel. It is conveniently located for easy access by car as well as for wandering about the well-equipped town of Ennis. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast menu had more to offer than most and the attentive staff made the meal all the more enjoyable. We regretted not staying longer in this lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleonard48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed in the Hotel 27th to the 29th of Jan, and attended a function on Sat night food and service 100%,and freindly staff. The staff from all departments in the hotel was first class. Bar Food great value, breakfast outstanding. The room was clean,and comfortable. When we got home we discovered we left some small items after us. Hotel reception were more than helpfull and our items arrived by post two days later at no cost to us The only down side I would have is the car park is far to small.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ager0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.2 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
854 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
499 reviews
1.2 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.4 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,523 reviews
0.5 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: RM380 - RM804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing