We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Terrific overview of County Clare and Ennis!

A variety of artifacts are displayed, along with recorded information linked to photographs and... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
barbaratQ5240GY
,
Seattle, Washington
Important for Orientation and Setting of Clare

This is a basic once in Ennis, associated with the tourism center, it offers a glimpse into the... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2018
Anabel-2013
,
Santa Barbara, California
Read all 163 reviews
  
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
86
67
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
67
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local history tourist office second floor free entry oral histories local area interesting displays recent past bronze age recorded information modern times prehistoric times pre history located right enjoyed our visit great history temple gate hotel
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Dropped in to visit the museum as we had intended to take the nearby walking history tour but, unfortunately, the tour doesn't happen during January. We were warmly welcomed into the museum and invited to take our time to enjoy it. While museum is relatively small, the exhibits are well presented and it is easy to spend an enjoyable hour or so looking at the exhibits and enjoying the audio history. The exhibits range from pre-historic to 20th century so there is a lot to catch the interest. On leaving we were given a number of tourist maps so that we could do a sort of walking tour ourselves which was a really nice touch.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank tomfclucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

WIth people, even state museums, now charging for entry it is hard to believe this place is free. We were advised to visit when at wWorkhouse centre in Portumna as we were heading south and had no clue what might be open. The museum covers the history of that county (Clare) from earliest times up to the present day. What a little gem in perhaps the friendliest town we visited on our Irish holiday. Definitely recommended.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

In the same building as the Tourist Office, this museum provides a good oversight of the local area and local history within the context of Irish history.

We found it to be well presented and to provide the sought of local introduction to an area that is of value. A well spent hour or so.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The history of county Clare from prehistoric times to the present. I was pleasantly surprised to find this museum to be as interesting as it was informative. And it is FREE!

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Arlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The museum is perfect to start your tour of Ireland as it provides information and exhibits that summarize the various changes throughout the many decades of history. Amazing that the admission is free!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank marypH8539MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews