We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Spent last Sat night in the river lee hotel. Really nice hotel, breakfast fantastic, lovely atmosphere in Hotel bar. All in all a great hotel! Will definetly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayoBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Mayobridie,

Thank you or taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and indeed for sharing your positive feedback with others. I have also passed all your kind feedback onto my staff and Management team.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River lee Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    659
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
729
1,270
98
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Really love staying in this hotel whenever myself and my partner are in Cork. Both of us have loved the hotel right from our first visit!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Mark1184,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

An Excellent Hotel - Well Managed, 5 Star quality and service, without being in your face and without 5 star costs. My second visit to River Lee Cork is just as good as the first was.

Room servicing was particularly good, with lots of attention to detail. A very good choice and quality at breakfast. Staff are very helpful, feel genuine, without being "in your face all the time" like many 4-5 star hotels are. Even the hotel laundry was quick and efficient and good value, at less than EU4 for a 12hr wash and press service for a shirt.

Cant say much more really. If all hotels offered the same high standard in all areas, and good value for money that the River Lee Cork does, then there would be no need for sites like trip Advisor. Not in centre of city, but just 10mins walk to City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Tripper21,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read your kind comments and share them with my team.

I do hope we can continue to exceed all your expectations for future stays.

Kind Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights in the River Lee Hotel, Cork. The reception was welcoming with log fires and comfortable settees. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The de-luxe rooms were excellent, spacious with very comfortable beds. We enjoyed using the Executive Lounge on the fifth floor, where there are complimentary refreshments available all day. Wewill definitely return to this hotel.
The hotel food was very good and we enjoyed eating at the Hayfield Manor Hotel, which was superb, and The Liberty Grill, which had a great buzzing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a deluxe room on the fifth floor - spacious bedrooms and all the extras and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maturecouple784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Maturecouple784,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and indeed for sharing your positive experience with others. I was delighted to read your review and see your high praise for the staff and hotel and would like to assure you that all your feedback has been forwarded to all the Hotel Team.

I do hope to see you back soon at the River Lee Hotel and I hope we can continue to exceed all your expectations.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very comfortable quiet room overlooking the river. Nespresso machine in the room and bathrobes. Great choice for breakfast. Ate in the bar at lunchtime and the food was just ok. Swimming pool seemed busy all the time. Free underground parking. Staff all very friendly and efficient. When checking out we were given bottled water for our journey which was a nice touch. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Corner room was larger and had a full wall sized window looking out on the river. No corridor traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear WilsonsDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and indeed for sharing your positive experience with others. I have passed all your positive feedback on to my team.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River lee Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price range (per night): RM593 - RM1,043
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing