We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
from US$20.13
More Info
from US$80.53
More Info
from US$31.06
More Info
from US$747.74
More Info
Reviews (7,956)
Filter reviews
7,956 results
Traveller rating
6,946
792
153
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,946
792
153
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interactive displays irish roots left ireland interactive experience all ages high tech family history two hours own pace well worth a visit couple of hours visiting dublin technology stamp information heritage stomping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 7,956 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2021

This museum shows all the many experiences and reasons that so many Irish people have emigrated, but it also focuses on particular individuals, showing us their letters and messages, and having good actors portray some of them.It starts with cruelty, but ends with the glorious influence that the Irish have had over other countries. I am not at all Irish, but I was moved and impressed.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank curioussheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPICMuseumCHQ, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi curioussheridan,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and learning about how a small island made a huge impact on so many other countries! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Lindsay,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

EPIC IS NOT A MUSEUM. A museum is somewhere where objects and artefacts are displayed. Epic has ONE display case showing a convicts jacket, a brick, and a pair of handcuffs and that's it.

EPIC is a series of rooms showing 3-5 minute video clips on loop. I found the first couple of rooms interesting where it was about 6 particular migrants and their stories but after that it became quite boring and I think younger children would find the whole thing quiet boring.

If you've already been through the Irish education system, you're not going to learn anything new at EPIC.

At €16.50 it is wayyyyy overpriced. For me, it was not worth €6.50, let alone €16.50. There are much better things to see and do in Dublin for less.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank DSCOTT_EIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPICMuseumCHQ, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi DSCOTT_EIRE,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum and for taking the time to review us. We regret to hear that your visit was not to your satisfaction.

As you have noted, we are very much a digital museum. What this means is that we use various digital and multimedia technology to tell the story of Irish emigration. Emigration from the island of Ireland dates back 1500 years, and was very much a lived experience. As such, there are actually very few authentic physical artefacts that can be found that would be relevant for our exhibition. However our museum does have some replicas and reproductions, either in print or used in our digital displays. We also have reproductions of the convicts uniform and shackles that prisoners wore while being transported to Australia.

Instead we focus on telling the reasons why such large amounts of people have emigrated from Ireland over the centuries, where they went to and what they achieved once they got there. We focus on their personal stories and journeys, and what leaving Ireland meant to them.

One of our original aims with EPIC was to be a first port of call to international visitors to Ireland, to give them a general overview of Irish emigration to help them understand how Irish people have spread around the world, and how such a small island has had such a large impact and influence on the globe.

Our Visitor Experience team are also on hand throughout our museum to help answer any questions regarding figures within the exhibition, and can provide additional information on a wide range of topics.

Overall our feedback from families who visit with young children is all positive. They really enjoy the space and the interactive exhibits, even if the material would be too advanced for them. This is why children aged 5 and under are admitted free of charge.

EPIC is also a great museum for older children. We’re a popular destination for school tour groups from ages 9 and up. We were also nominated by the European Museum Academy for their prestigious Children in Museums Award in 2017, the only Irish museum to be shortlisted

With regards to your concerns about price, please note that EPIC is a privately-funded museum and receives no public funding. This is why we charge an admission fee. It would be standard practice for the majority of privately-funded museums in the state to charge admission. We do offer discounted rates to schools, charities and other special interest groups on request.

One of the advantages of being a digital museum is that we are able to collate and reflect on all of the very welcome opinions expressed by our visitors as we plan changes, improvements and new curation in the future.

Please do let us know if you have any further questions or concerns about the museum experience.

Kind Regards,
Becca,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2021

We were not sure of visiting the museum as we thought the cost was a tad high. However, the museum is in a nice building with shops and eats. We did enjoy how the museum offered a brief and somewhat thorough history of the island and the impact its citizens had on the world. They offered you a passport card with the different sections of the museum noted and where you could get a stamp. Quite creative. We took about 2 1/2 hours to see the exhibits and walk through everything (we take our time). They adhered to strict Covid distancing and had plenty of sanitizer stations. Overall, this is a worthwhile museum.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank TrailBlazer_BOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPICMuseumCHQ, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hi TrailBlazer_BOZ,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and learning more about the influence of the Irish globally! It's always great to hear when visitors take plenty of time in each gallery, there's so much to learn! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Lindsay,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2021

Don't skip experiencing this interactive museum which highlights all facets of Irish influence around the world, past & present.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank sandycUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPICMuseumCHQ, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hi sandycUSA,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and learning more about the influence of the Irish globally! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Lindsay,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021

Very enjoyable and emotional, although I did think some of the links to Ireland were a bit tenuous, but still had an informative visit.

Date of experience: September 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPICMuseumCHQ, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hi fiona g,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Lindsay,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews