We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,987 results
Traveller rating
875
564
301
137
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
564
301
137
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews octagon bar temple bar cleaver east restaurant river view the penthouse upgraded to a suite mini bar lovely hotel street noise dublin castle the location is perfect trinity college grafton street bono liffey ireland pubs
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,987 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went to Ireland for our 30th wedding anniversary. Upon check-in the Bell staff were helpful and friendly. Given key and taken to room by bell staff. Lovely room! After settling in we ventured out. Upon return our key would not work. Proceeded to front desk where we were informed we were put in the wrong room and MADE to pack up and relocate. Our new room was disappointing after what we were initially given. This was not our error and after unpacking etc we as guests should not have been moved. Otherwise a lovely old hotel in the middle of everything. My concern is not the hotel but the way the front desk manager handled their error.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CDS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Front Office Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear CDS68,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Please accept my due gratitude for your kind words about our Hotel and our Bell team, however it's disappointing to read your review and see that we didn't exceed your expectation level.
I do apologies for inconvenience caused during your stay with us and i understand your frustration at this point. Unfortunately we wasn't able to provide room showed at first as it was different type of room and was booked already. Please be insured that it's not our standard which we strive to provide to our guests and our team does apologies for mix up upon arrival. Our head management will definitely be informed about inconvenience you experienced to improve our service in future.

I apologies once again and i would be delighted to welcome you back in near or further future to change your opinion about our property and i can ensure that we would look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We really enjoyed three nights at The Clarence in early June. Right on the Liffey river near the Hapenny Bridge, a great location to walk to everything, with both front door on the river and back door into Temple Bar. Not only that, the hotel is very comfortable with great beds and all modern needs met, and a very nice and supportive staff to help with taxi's and any other needs. It was truly a five star stay! Thanks again to Ralph at the front desk for all of his help and we will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Front Office Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Catherine1001,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are committed to making our guests stay with us a memorable one and I thank you for your kind feedback mentioning our central location, comfortable bedrooms and mentioning our helpful team especially Ralph which is huge asset to our team and will be delighted to hear for your kind words.
We are looking forward to the next time to welcome you back again to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Came here for a solo leisure trip. I want to stay somewhere near the main attractions and that was reasonably good, so I stumble upon The Clarence and the hotel did not disappoint.

I only encountered the staff a few times but they were friendly and professional. They instantly sent up a toothbrush and toothpaste when I asked. The housekeeping were very prompt and efficient.

The room was very spacious, well decorated and well equipped. The TV was large with a good range of channels. The only problem is that the hotel is quite old, so they can't install an built in air conditioner but the room is equipped with two fans which were sufficient.

The only major problem I had was with the toilet. It didn't have a powerful flush, so sometimes I required two flushes. Other than that, I would recommend this place to other people

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorse7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Front Office Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear doctorse7en,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are committed to making our guests stay with us a memorable one and I thank you for your kind feedback mentioning our central location and spacious bedrooms. I'm delighted to hear that our team did exceed your expectations and did meet your needs.

I look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

your comments:
We have mixed reviews for the Clarence. The staff was professional, helpful, and friendly. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The Cleaver restaurant served good food in a lively atmosphere. On the downside, the hotel decor,was quite utilitarian and bland, and worn around the edges. It did not feel welcoming, and seemed outdated, especially compared to the restaurant. The noise level from the street in the early morning hours was remarkable and because of warm weather, we needed to open the windows for ventilation. Very tough to sleep, and the portable air conditioner was too loud to leave running.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BarbaraK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Front Office Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear BarbaraK2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Please accept our due gratitude for your kind words regarding our clean and comfortable bedrooms and our professional team which is huge asset to our hotel however i'm disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations fully and i do apologies for inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments on board for future improvements as we strive to provide to our guest only best service we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Great hotel, great food and attention, staff very friendly. We had a very good time having stayed various times in the Clarence. Would strongly recommend the hotel above all book a table in the restaurant which serves some great food - the taster menu is highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank t0nypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Front Office Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear t0nypark,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are committed to making our guests stay with us a memorable one and I thank you for your kind feedback mentioning our great team and restaurant which combining makes us so special. I look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews